Old-Fashioned Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I thought these were okay. I was thinking they would be a quick version of a southern style green bean. However, they just kind of taste like steamed green beans with some bacon pieces. The flavors didn't come together. The recipe is missing something. It could be onion, garlic, broth, I am not really sure. They also have an odd sweet after taste that doesn't blend either. Not sure why, but I expected something so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Way too much sugar! Was like eating candied green beans. They would be great without all the sugar. Maybe a little bit, but 3 tablespoons is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent! Used chicken stock instead of water and bacon instead of ham. My husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agsgmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is definitely going to be my new favorite green bean recipe! I did cut back on the brown sugar but, otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks Willa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These were very good and my family loved them. I will make again but I will add some garlic like the other reviews suggested. Felt like they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This got good reviews at Sunday dinner. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
this was easy and quick and so delicious i even got compliments from my sister in law who wanted the recipe can't wait to make this one again!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
It's a delicious dish! I used it as a side with some baked pork chops. I don't usually cook heavier foods at night (ie bacon), but this dish is more than worth it, especially on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My family loved these beans. I added garlic to them to contrast the sweetness. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very Good. Used frozen green beans and let cook long enough to take the chill off before adding other ingredients and didn't need as much water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckelly916

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States