Old Fashioned Giblet Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best recipe! Reminds me of my Moms... I took french bread that I hadn't used and some that was fresh, cubed and dried on a cookie sheet in the oven. I did add some seasonings, rubbed sage & garlic powder. After cooled I had a lot! Cut and sauteed onion, garlic celery... Added at the end some parsley ( I use curly).... I did not add any meat! LOVE this! I would never buy bread crumbs again. I added a lot more chicken brooth, if I had to guess, over 2 cups... My husband loved it and he is a stuffing critique. Thanks! Next time I will measure so I know for the future.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time making stuffing and my guests raved about it. I opted to skip the giblets and not stuff it in the turkey. I used a little more chicken broth and baked until it was up to the desired temp. This will definitely be a traditional dish in our home for years to come. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a good start. I've always simmered the giblets and neck with chopped leaves and stalks from the center of the celery stalk (I find them he most flavorful), chopped onion, chopped garlic and bay leaf. Remove as much meat from the neck as possible and chop or blend the giblets in a blender with some of the broth created when simmered. Mix with the dried bread and add chopped apple (raisins if desired) and herbs. Use the rest of the broth and chicken or vegetable broth the dampen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great recipe, I also add some minced garlic and a couple of eggs. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan M Mathews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I Always use cornbread stuffing and add diced pork sausage green pepper and fresh crushed garlic along with the giblets I also bring the giblets to a boil in the chicken broth for extra flavoring to the broth..Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adama Amina James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My Mimmie's is very much like this. We use 3 beaten eggs to hold together and adds to fluffiness. Bake uncovered last 15 min to get crunchy on top. Also, adding just a touch to the taste of dried sage. Very good recipe. This is good southern oldfashion stuffing/dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Yes I agree this is a really delicious dish. But I agree with Debbie. Adding 2 eggs make for a better dressing. I have a tip on cooking the giblets. Chop them up and place in the blender with the bouillon. Transfer them into a sauce pan with the butter, celery, onions and seasoning and cook until tender. Cool down and add the eggs and dry bread or stuffing cubes. Delicious!!!! Enjoy.........Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is my first review and my absolute favorite part of thanksgiving. This is the same recipe that my family has used. People look at me like I'm crazy when I tell them I use the bag in the turkey. But they love it when they try it. I also cook the neck down and add the juices for my gravy. Great recipe!! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the same exact recipe that my mom got from my dad's mom and made it for us when I was a kid which I learned how to make it too and with the same ingredients we use for our turkey stuffing but the only difference is we boiled the giblets in water and added 2 more turkey necks to it. when done, then we take all the meat off the bone put it in food processor and put in bowl with bread and then giblets get put into a food processor and then to the large bowl with bite size bread pieces put it all on top and 1 stick of melted butter and the celery and onion get put in the food processor too and put in the bowl with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning then you use the stock from the giblets to get the dressing moist to your liking and stir altogether and stuff turkey the next day with it(I used to eat just the stuffing the way it was and my mom used to yell at me and say leave some for the turkey) and left over stock is the basting for the turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the same recipe I grew up with...mom used evaporated milk to soak bread crumbs to make it creamy. She would add chicken broth as needed to moisten it. She also would buy a couple extra packages of gizzards to make sure every bite had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States