Old Fashioned Giblet Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is the same recipe my mom made when I was young. I have made it for many years from memory. Thank you for submitting a wonderful recipe that brings back days long forgotten! I have never cooked the giblets with the butter, but have boiled them in the chicken broth. I will try it the other way and see which is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just wanted to say that this is the recipe that I grew up with and loved, but my mom used to add boiled and cut up chicken gizzards and 2 beaten eggs to make the stuffing more fluffy. Yummy! PS I fry my celery and onion in a bit of butter with some fresh garlic before adding to the stuffing along with the juice that I got from boiling the neck and gizzards. Happy holidays everyone from debbie in Kendallville, IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is exactly how my father in law made his stuffing, only he added minced garlic. And for those who don't use the giblets in the stuffing, you are MISSING OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I have been making this for years.Started by my great grandmother, we have always boil the giblets first then dice. also only used cornbread and added 1 or 2 tablespoons of sugar and black olives (dice) Yum =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I used this stuffing to stuff my first turkey, and it turned out quite well. My signifigant other quite liked it, I liked the taste, but found the texture of the chopped giblets to be a little unappealing. If I used this recipie again, I think I would opt to grind the giblets, and I might not fry them in butter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Finally I made some giblet stuffing for my husband. He was thrilled and he also enjoyed it, as did I, very much. Next time I think I might add a bit more celery and onions, though. I also used a bit more than 1 cup of broth. I baked it separately in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes, covered. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
First time stuffing maker here...but no one would have known that by the way this recipe turned out! I did add some sage and thyme and about 1/2 cup more broth. Mom always added the giblets to her stuffing so was surprised when others found this unusual! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe and have been looking for it since my grandfather bless his soul passed away. i cook and grind the giblets myself and also add a lil sage. thank you for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very delicious and easy to make. I was looking for a basic dressing for Thanksgiving and this really hit the spot. I had dinner for 16 and everyone loved this. I now have my traditional dressing recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the same exact recipe that my mom got from my dad's mom and made it for us when I was a kid which I learned how to make it too and with the same ingredients we use for our turkey stuffing but the only difference is we boiled the giblets in water and added 2 more turkey necks to it. when done, then we take all the meat off the bone put it in food processor and put in bowl with bread and then giblets get put into a food processor and then to the large bowl with bite size bread pieces put it all on top and 1 stick of melted butter and the celery and onion get put in the food processor too and put in the bowl with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning then you use the stock from the giblets to get the dressing moist to your liking and stir altogether and stuff turkey the next day with it(I used to eat just the stuffing the way it was and my mom used to yell at me and say leave some for the turkey) and left over stock is the basting for the turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States