Old Fashioned Giblet Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Yes I agree this is a really delicious dish. But I agree with Debbie. Adding 2 eggs make for a better dressing. I have a tip on cooking the giblets. Chop them up and place in the blender with the bouillon. Transfer them into a sauce pan with the butter, celery, onions and seasoning and cook until tender. Cool down and add the eggs and dry bread or stuffing cubes. Delicious!!!! Enjoy.........Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is my first review and my absolute favorite part of thanksgiving. This is the same recipe that my family has used. People look at me like I'm crazy when I tell them I use the bag in the turkey. But they love it when they try it. I also cook the neck down and add the juices for my gravy. Great recipe!! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the same exact recipe that my mom got from my dad's mom and made it for us when I was a kid which I learned how to make it too and with the same ingredients we use for our turkey stuffing but the only difference is we boiled the giblets in water and added 2 more turkey necks to it. when done, then we take all the meat off the bone put it in food processor and put in bowl with bread and then giblets get put into a food processor and then to the large bowl with bite size bread pieces put it all on top and 1 stick of melted butter and the celery and onion get put in the food processor too and put in the bowl with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning then you use the stock from the giblets to get the dressing moist to your liking and stir altogether and stuff turkey the next day with it(I used to eat just the stuffing the way it was and my mom used to yell at me and say leave some for the turkey) and left over stock is the basting for the turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the same recipe I grew up with...mom used evaporated milk to soak bread crumbs to make it creamy. She would add chicken broth as needed to moisten it. She also would buy a couple extra packages of gizzards to make sure every bite had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good! I had always tossed the giblets in the trash but am really glad I tried this. I stuffed mine in the turkey then transferred it to a casserole and heated it in the oven so the top would be crispy...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just wanted to say that this is the recipe that I grew up with and loved, but my mom used to add boiled and cut up chicken gizzards and 2 beaten eggs to make the stuffing more fluffy. Yummy! PS I fry my celery and onion in a bit of butter with some fresh garlic before adding to the stuffing along with the juice that I got from boiling the neck and gizzards. Happy holidays everyone from debbie in Kendallville, IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is the same recipe my grandmother used to make!!!! wow ! now i can finally master it!! ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Finally I made some giblet stuffing for my husband. He was thrilled and he also enjoyed it, as did I, very much. Next time I think I might add a bit more celery and onions, though. I also used a bit more than 1 cup of broth. I baked it separately in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes, covered. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
First time stuffing maker here...but no one would have known that by the way this recipe turned out! I did add some sage and thyme and about 1/2 cup more broth. Mom always added the giblets to her stuffing so was surprised when others found this unusual! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very delicious and easy to make. I was looking for a basic dressing for Thanksgiving and this really hit the spot. I had dinner for 16 and everyone loved this. I now have my traditional dressing recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States