Old Fashioned Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I tried for years to make my mothers old fashioned fudge only to come up repeatedly with thick goo that never set. This recipe not only worked, but tastes exactly like my mothers. The key, and I can not stress this enough, is to let the temperature go up two to three extra degrees on your candy thermometer. No more goo ever! And now my grandchildren are in love with this old fashioned fudge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I didn't care too much for this recipe. It is in my experience that there are other recipes that are closer to OLD Fashioned than this one. I can not say a negative about the recipe only that I did not care for it. It is a recipe to try though. It is easy to make and the over all flavor is good. This is a good starting point for those who have never made fudge before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I tried my hand at this fudge. I only changed the recipe by adding 1/8 tsp of salt and walnuts in the end. I cooked it to a boil and let it cook by itself without stirring until it reached the soft ball mark on my candy thermometer and I also tested it in the glass of water. I let the pan sit off the heat for awhile and then put it in a pan of cold water to bring the temp down. At 110-115, I began stirring. Physically I was only able to stir for 10 min. (I didn't have anyone home to help). I didn't notice any change to the color only that it thickened. I poured it into a buttered dish and put in the fridge overnight. This a.m. I cut the candy. I was barely able to keep it in squares because it was soft. I didn't mind it being soft but I wasn't 100% pleased with the taste. It's kind of a sickening sweet. I honestly don't know if it will even be eaten and I eat chocolate every day. I probably needed to let it boil for another 2 minutes to get the consistency right and next time I will let my kitchenaid do the stirring. I also may research more takes on the Hershey fudge recipes and reviews to address the taste. Thanks for posting this recipe as it has pushed me into trying to make homemade fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This recipe throws you off, so I will give you some tips. It says to beat the mixture with a wooden spoon until the mixture loses it's sheen and THEN pour it into the bowl. What you do once the fudge reaches the right temperature is take it off heat for 2 minutes. Then beat it with a wood spoon. After you have done that, mix in the vanilla and quickly pour the mixture into the pan. I followed the directions but once it got thick, it was un-pourable and already turning/ed into fudge. Bottom Line: You need to pour the fudge into the pan when it is still glossy and liquid-y and pourable. Follow this and you will turn out with amazing fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Mine is soupy, but tastes good. I think I was impatient and didn't let it cook long enough. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a good recipe that I've used for years, the only thing that should be done differently is, once the ingredients reach a boiling point reduce the heat to a slow low boil and DO NOT STIR . Stirring causes crystals to form on the pan and can deter the consistency. I add black walnuts and walnut flavoring instead of vanilla after it is removed from heat and beat by hand until gloss is gone then pour quickly into buttered pan as it sets up rapidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I was looking for a yummy fudge recipe that I had ingredients for. Some of the reviews made me nervous, but I succeeded and I am not a master chef and had two little ones "helping." Read through the other reviews so you know what to expect. Also I appreciated the suggestion on using a kitchen-aid to do the stirring (it took forever to lose the gloss, I couldn't imagine stirring by hand.) My kids loved it. Should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Grimshaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I love this kind of fudge. In my opinion, the other stuff with marshmellow creme isn't really fudge. The problem I've had with this is beating it after it's reached the softball stage and cooled. It takes some major arm strengh and endurance! Some hints in working with this kind of fudge: Sift the sugar and cocoa together before mixing it with the other ingredients, it'll blend better with no cocoa lumps; butter the sides of the pan, use a heavy-guage sauce pan. Do not disturb the fudge once it starts to "roll" boil. Using corn syrup AND sugar helps to keep the sugar from crystallizing and ruining the entire batch. If the fudge is grainy after it's cooled-crystalization of the sugar is the culprit. Don't scrape the sides of the pan as the fudge cooks, that can also be dangerous-if you have one sugar crystal on the side and it gets into the fudge it will ruin it. Once the fudge starts to thicken (as you're beating it) and loses it high gloss, THAT is the time to get it into a buttered pan. ALSO, do NOT use one of those spray products to grease the sides of your cooking pot, there is something in the product that will keep your fudge from thickening. I've learned all these hints from mistakes I've made. Good luck. This is definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I used Alton Brown's directions with this recipe and it turned out perfect not grainy . Use half the butter when cooking and the other half when it is cooling. Once it hits 234 degrees or the soft ball stage which ever comes first turn the heat off add the rest of the butter and let it cool without stiring for 10 min and with a wooden spoon beat the heck out of it for 20 min more or less until it losses it glossyness it hurts your arm after a while but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was dry and crumbly, but I will give it four stars because I most likely did something wrong! It was my first time making fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States