Old Fashioned Fudge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
i thought that these cookies were really great, they disappeared pretty quick. i didn't have enough flour, so i substituted the last 1/2 cup with cocoa powder, and, contrary to a lot of other reviews, i didn't find them dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
The reviews on this recipe certainly went from one extreme to the other, so I decided to try them for myself. They're definitely not fudgy. More like a brownie. I followed the recipe as written, but I added a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips. Was looking for something to sandwich homemade ice cream in between. They worked great for that. They are a little dry on their own. You do need to flatten them because they do not flatten on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I'm a pretty good baker but these cookies turned out terribly. I followed directions and ingredients exactly and they were extremely dry in the middle. Made you want to a big glass of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I was actually really disappointed with this recipe...sorry! I followed it very carefully, but I knew as soon as I tasted the dough that these were not going to be very good. I even rolled them in sugar before flattening to see if the taste would improve, but when they came out of the oven, the cookies were extremely dry and the texture was even a bit sandy....maybe from the rolled sugar? Maybe using semi-sweetened chocolate would help, but I won't be trying these again. I'll use up my chocolate calories elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I rolled the cookie dough into 1" balls and then rolled the balls in granulated sugar. After baking them, I gently flattened each cookie by placing a candy kiss on top. The combination of the chocolate kiss and the chocolate cookie was yummy! These looked nice on my cookie tray along with the traditional Peanut Blossom cookies. I can't wait to try this with the new mint-flavored chocolate kisses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Very nice chocolate flavor, not exactly fudgy, but certainly chewy and yummy. Make sure you watch these, though: I baked them 6 minutes and a couple of them still burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I really like this cookie. It's not to sweet and not too chocolatey. Really good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Sally, these are great chocolate cookies!!!!! I frosted mine with buttercream frosting and look out what a punch of sugar and chocolate!! Great cookie thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These are very tasty. I don't think they're like fudge but they are chocolate overload. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
These are the most amazing cookies ever! They are incredibly tender and have a wonderful chocolate flavor. I am a true chocoholic and didn't really believe a chocolate cookie without chocolate chips could be so good but boy was I wrong! I used a small cookie scoop, covered the cookie sheet with the cookie balls and then went back and lightly flattened each one with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. I also took some of them to work and my coworkers thought they were awesome, too! TRY THEM NOW!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States