Old Fashioned Fudge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
The reviews on this recipe certainly went from one extreme to the other, so I decided to try them for myself. They're definitely not fudgy. More like a brownie. I followed the recipe as written, but I added a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips. Was looking for something to sandwich homemade ice cream in between. They worked great for that. They are a little dry on their own. You do need to flatten them because they do not flatten on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
These are the most amazing cookies ever! They are incredibly tender and have a wonderful chocolate flavor. I am a true chocoholic and didn't really believe a chocolate cookie without chocolate chips could be so good but boy was I wrong! I used a small cookie scoop, covered the cookie sheet with the cookie balls and then went back and lightly flattened each one with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. I also took some of them to work and my coworkers thought they were awesome, too! TRY THEM NOW!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Very nice chocolate flavor, not exactly fudgy, but certainly chewy and yummy. Make sure you watch these, though: I baked them 6 minutes and a couple of them still burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
These cookies didn't taste like fudge, but BOY ARE THEY GOOD! I made them for a big group because they made about 50 cookies, and they were gone that same day. Really chocolatey, and they have that crunchy-soft feel. I dipped them in sugar before baking...they didn't spread all that much so they're kind of small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Not bad! These cookies turned out soft and puffy. I thought they were a little plain so next time I'll add some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Scrumptious! What deep chocolate flavor! The batter came together so nice! My KitchenAid mixer and this cookie dough are meant for one another! A definite recipe favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
i followed this exact but they took me 15 minutes to cook and some wernt cooked underneath? they did taste yummy but defo needed more chocolate. i will be cooking again though for sure - practise makes perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Incredibly easy to make. Fantasitic recipe. Substituted the bar chocolate with melted dark chocolate chips then cut the white sugar down to 3/4 cup. My nephew and his friends couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Yummy!!!! This was so easy to make . And it taste just like the chocolate sugar cookies my Granny used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The cookies weren't what I expected, but they were really good, there even better with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States