Old Fashioned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wonderful cake! I also used 1 cup of strong brewed coffee instead of the water. I increased the chocolate to 6 ounces. Very moist and delicious. I used a bundt pan and the baking time for my cake was about 40 minutes. Will definitely be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Very easy to make. I ommitted the sour cream and only put in 1 cup of sugar as I couldn't get bitter chocolate only the normal dark kind, but it rose beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Extremely moist! Sour cream always makes cakes moist. I used semi-sweet chocolate and the cake turned out perfect. No icing necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This cake was wonderful! My daughter was craving chocolate so I found this recipe and she loved it. It's super moist, chocolaty and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
i LIKED THIS CAKE IT WAS VERY MOIST AND MY HUSBAND RAVED ABOUT IT. i SENT HALF OF THE CAKE TO MY MOTHER IN LAWS AND THEY LOVED IT ALSO, SO MUCH SO MY NEICE JUST CALLED AND ASKED ME TO BAKE ANOTHER FOR HER. THIS CAKE IS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
The best chocolate cake I have ever made or eaten for that matter! Moist, thick and perfectly chocolate! I did substitute vanilla hazelnut coffee for water and added an extra ounce of chocolate to the original recipe. This recipe is already book-marked and will certainly use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was wonderful! The only chocolate I had was semi-sweet chocolate chips, so I used about 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt with the dry ingredients. Moist, dense, and perfect old fashioned chocolate homemade flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hardinsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
this recipe was wonderful. it was easy and delicious. i made this on superbowl sunday and didn't have any sour cream, so instead of fighting the crowds in stores i just made it without it. still this cake was very moist and delicous. i can't wait to try it with all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This cake was nice and moist and my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This cake was very moist and tasty, though I feel it could use more chocolate than what was given on the recipes, maybe 2 oz. But, delicious! I used a chocolate glaze on top, too with powdered sugar, very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States