Old Fashioned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This cake was very moist and tasty, though I feel it could use more chocolate than what was given on the recipes, maybe 2 oz. But, delicious! I used a chocolate glaze on top, too with powdered sugar, very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Very easy to make. I ommitted the sour cream and only put in 1 cup of sugar as I couldn't get bitter chocolate only the normal dark kind, but it rose beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Extremely moist! Sour cream always makes cakes moist. I used semi-sweet chocolate and the cake turned out perfect. No icing necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
If you're looking for a chocolate pound cake recipe, this is a very good one. When I saw "fudge" in the title, I hoped it was a fudgey and chocolatey traditional chocolate cake. I love pound cake and I love chocolate cake, but the combination of the two has never been my favorite. I could tell from tasting the batter that it wasn't going to be chocolatey enough for me, so I added a half cup each of cocoa and sugar. Still just wasn't what I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This cake was wonderful! My daughter was craving chocolate so I found this recipe and she loved it. It's super moist, chocolaty and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
To be honest, the batter was much better than the final baked product which was just okay. Still it gets 4 stars because the batter itself was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @lyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
i LIKED THIS CAKE IT WAS VERY MOIST AND MY HUSBAND RAVED ABOUT IT. i SENT HALF OF THE CAKE TO MY MOTHER IN LAWS AND THEY LOVED IT ALSO, SO MUCH SO MY NEICE JUST CALLED AND ASKED ME TO BAKE ANOTHER FOR HER. THIS CAKE IS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a really easy, delicious cake! I did add a teaspoon of cinnamon for a "Mexican chocolate" flair and for presentation's sake, I made a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar, 3 tbl milk, and 1 tsp vanilla and drizzled it over the top. I will definitely be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
pretty bloody good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
The best chocolate cake I have ever made or eaten for that matter! Moist, thick and perfectly chocolate! I did substitute vanilla hazelnut coffee for water and added an extra ounce of chocolate to the original recipe. This recipe is already book-marked and will certainly use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States