Old Fashioned Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
My 12 year old granddaughter made it and did and AWESOME job. It came out very flakey. grandma gwen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was also my mother's recipe passed down from her grandmother. She always rolled out her dough between waxed paper to prevent cracking. It's a tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlhadley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a perfect crust!!! My son has food allergies...I was looking for a recipe that uses canola oil...With this recipe, I am able to make homemade fruit and cream, chicken and turkey pot pies, ect...Flaky crust every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
the only thing I would add is to roll it out between wax paper. Makes it so much easyer to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This a light, flaky pie crust. It is now my favorite! I have never been able to make a decent oil pie crust, and I'm 57 and pies are one of the of my favorite dishes. This is now Number 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
An easy to make, unobtrusive pie crust, and one of the few ones that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening - the substitution made no noticeable difference to me. Rolling out the dough between sheets of wax paper will make the process much easier. I used this with a berry pie, and added a few tablespoons of sugar to the dough recipe, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love this pie crust! It was so simple. It was golden an so flaky. I too added a little bit more water about 1 1/2 tbsp. I can't wait to make this for my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This crust was great for chicken pot pie. I doubled the recipe, and it made enough for a top and bottom crust for 6 miniature pies (in oval-shaped ramekins). Dough was very oily, but I kept dusting everything with flour and managed to roll them out pretty well. Next time I will try rolling it out between sheets of wax paper. Overall, this was a great crust. Would use this recipe again, especially for savory pies. Not sure if it would taste as good with sweet pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
it was good but hard to keep together i added alitttle more water.. rolled it out on floured board but it didnt make 2 crust pie.. it was more like 1 single crust size. but came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
The crust was very difficult to keep together so I ended up having to form it in the pie plate. I also added an extra tablespoon of water. Over all it was very good and worked very well for my pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States