Old Fashioned Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This is good! It worked great on top of a veggie pot pie, just a top crust. I left it a little thick since I only rolled out one crust. Used half whole wheat flour/half white, and olive oil...always trying to find healthier ways of making things that come out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
just a grainy old oil crust not flaky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this 6 or 7 times for various types of pie, it flakes really well and has a great density - but it won't stick together... ever. I've tried chilling it before use, adding water, even varying the amount of flour on my work space, this recipe just isn't made to be cohesive. This might be good in a pinch if one runs out of butter and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this but it was falling apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This crust was great for chicken pot pie. I doubled the recipe, and it made enough for a top and bottom crust for 6 miniature pies (in oval-shaped ramekins). Dough was very oily, but I kept dusting everything with flour and managed to roll them out pretty well. Next time I will try rolling it out between sheets of wax paper. Overall, this was a great crust. Would use this recipe again, especially for savory pies. Not sure if it would taste as good with sweet pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love this pie crust! It was so simple. It was golden an so flaky. I too added a little bit more water about 1 1/2 tbsp. I can't wait to make this for my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
An easy to make, unobtrusive pie crust, and one of the few ones that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening - the substitution made no noticeable difference to me. Rolling out the dough between sheets of wax paper will make the process much easier. I used this with a berry pie, and added a few tablespoons of sugar to the dough recipe, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This a light, flaky pie crust. It is now my favorite! I have never been able to make a decent oil pie crust, and I'm 57 and pies are one of the of my favorite dishes. This is now Number 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
the only thing I would add is to roll it out between wax paper. Makes it so much easyer to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
My 12 year old granddaughter made it and did and AWESOME job. It came out very flakey. grandma gwen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States