Old Fashioned Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Added a chopped apple! Mmm-mmm delish! The kids loved it and called it a mix between apple cobbler and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I added pecans and whisky soaked raisins, I'm a huge fan of crumb topping (muffin tops oh yeah) so I always go heavier with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Yummy! Call it what you will, spice cake, crumb cake - whatever, but make sure you call it delicious! I found it very moist with just the right combination of spices and flavorings - I also love a crumb topping and was looking for something just a little different, and this fit the bill nicely. I took it to work and it soon disappeared. I did add some raisins and walnuts, but no doubt it would have been just as good without them. I will definitely be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Like most folks, I changed it a bit, but maybe in an unexpected manner. I eliminated the cloves and used only cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp total. Then I divided the batter into 6 large muffins. I topped the muffins with the crumbs as directed and baked according to directions. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent and easy. I did not have cloves or buttermilk,substituted nutmeg and milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. Made this as a side for Dad's Day scrambled eggs with cheese and Canadian bacon...he love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk and this was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow! This cake turned out so moist, so flavorful, so fluffy! We loved it!!!!!!! Our crumbs didn't turn out quite crumb-y enough. Not sure what we did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful moist cake. The cake alone remains fresh for days! I doubled the crumb top in an attempt to imitate a bakery crumb cake I remember as a child. The addition was was a success...my family couldn't believe it was not the cake from the bakery. I also elimated the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Followed recipe but found the topping not able to cover so I added brown sugar. For dessert I plated a slice an covered it with fresh strawberries. My daughter took it to the next level using chocolate syrup and whip cream and another layer of chocolate syrup. I was going to take a picture but her little mouth was too fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
It turned out great but I had no buttermilk so I used a cup of milk and some lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States