Old Fashioned Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This cake was pretty good, but I'd call it a spice cake instead of crumb cake. The cake has a dark color, because of the cinnamon and cloves. The crumb topping was sparce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
The title of this recipe was misleading. There wasn't as much crumb topping as there should have been for a crumb cake, plus it was very floury. The cake itself was good if you like the spice of cinnamon and cloves. I wish I had read the other reviews first before making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Added a chopped apple! Mmm-mmm delish! The kids loved it and called it a mix between apple cobbler and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I added pecans and whisky soaked raisins, I'm a huge fan of crumb topping (muffin tops oh yeah) so I always go heavier with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Yummy! Call it what you will, spice cake, crumb cake - whatever, but make sure you call it delicious! I found it very moist with just the right combination of spices and flavorings - I also love a crumb topping and was looking for something just a little different, and this fit the bill nicely. I took it to work and it soon disappeared. I did add some raisins and walnuts, but no doubt it would have been just as good without them. I will definitely be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe! it baked up wonderfully .. I had added left over nuts that I had laying arround almonds and pecans and walnuts it was fantastic I also substatuted the butter milk with half sour cream and real milk it was fabulose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Like most folks, I changed it a bit, but maybe in an unexpected manner. I eliminated the cloves and used only cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp total. Then I divided the batter into 6 large muffins. I topped the muffins with the crumbs as directed and baked according to directions. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I first tried Crumb Cake while on vacation in Honolulu and I was keen to try making this cake myself. I used this recipe and found that it made a wonderful tasting cake that was easy to make and very moist. The only thing I would possibly change next time would be a slight reduction in the amount of cinnamon but for those that like their spice, stay with with the recipe measurements. A delicious cake and one that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent and easy. I did not have cloves or buttermilk,substituted nutmeg and milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. Made this as a side for Dad's Day scrambled eggs with cheese and Canadian bacon...he love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good, similar to the one my mother-in-law makes, which is my husband's favorite. I have to bake it 35 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States