Old Fashioned Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Cake was OK. More like spice cake, I think because of the cloves more than anything. My topping didn't turn out to be crumbly like a crumb cake, which was disappointing because I made it for a friend's birthday who just loves crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow! This cake turned out so moist, so flavorful, so fluffy! We loved it!!!!!!! Our crumbs didn't turn out quite crumb-y enough. Not sure what we did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk and this was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good, similar to the one my mother-in-law makes, which is my husband's favorite. I have to bake it 35 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent and easy. I did not have cloves or buttermilk,substituted nutmeg and milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. Made this as a side for Dad's Day scrambled eggs with cheese and Canadian bacon...he love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I first tried Crumb Cake while on vacation in Honolulu and I was keen to try making this cake myself. I used this recipe and found that it made a wonderful tasting cake that was easy to make and very moist. The only thing I would possibly change next time would be a slight reduction in the amount of cinnamon but for those that like their spice, stay with with the recipe measurements. A delicious cake and one that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Like most folks, I changed it a bit, but maybe in an unexpected manner. I eliminated the cloves and used only cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp total. Then I divided the batter into 6 large muffins. I topped the muffins with the crumbs as directed and baked according to directions. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe! it baked up wonderfully .. I had added left over nuts that I had laying arround almonds and pecans and walnuts it was fantastic I also substatuted the butter milk with half sour cream and real milk it was fabulose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Yummy! Call it what you will, spice cake, crumb cake - whatever, but make sure you call it delicious! I found it very moist with just the right combination of spices and flavorings - I also love a crumb topping and was looking for something just a little different, and this fit the bill nicely. I took it to work and it soon disappeared. I did add some raisins and walnuts, but no doubt it would have been just as good without them. I will definitely be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I added pecans and whisky soaked raisins, I'm a huge fan of crumb topping (muffin tops oh yeah) so I always go heavier with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States