Old Fashioned Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My family really liked this cake. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup sour cream as others have suggested. The cake had a nice flavor and was very moist. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because my husband (The New Jersey expert on crumb cake said it wasn't crumb cake.) I will make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe was fantastic. My family and I ate it so quickly! Definiely a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
It turned out great but I had no buttermilk so I used a cup of milk and some lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Followed recipe but found the topping not able to cover so I added brown sugar. For dessert I plated a slice an covered it with fresh strawberries. My daughter took it to the next level using chocolate syrup and whip cream and another layer of chocolate syrup. I was going to take a picture but her little mouth was too fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Pretty good! I just put less clove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful moist cake. The cake alone remains fresh for days! I doubled the crumb top in an attempt to imitate a bakery crumb cake I remember as a child. The addition was was a success...my family couldn't believe it was not the cake from the bakery. I also elimated the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Ellen Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very moist cake! I didn't have any buttermilk so I took the tip of another reviewer and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. I would prefer the cake to be slightly sweeter with more crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
it tastes good, but I think the cinnamon should go into the topping, I plan to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Weigand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
was okay not what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenCook
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was definitely more of a spice cake, all the spices made it taste like a pumpkin cake too! We liked it, but if you are looking for a crumb cake, I would advise another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States