Old Fashioned Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I doubled the crumb topping as we like the crumbles..a Dominican vanilla was added to the batter and a smidge of rum. added cinnamon to crumbles..was like my favorite drake cakes as a child..this should not be a spice cake..it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My family really liked this cake. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup sour cream as others have suggested. The cake had a nice flavor and was very moist. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because my husband (The New Jersey expert on crumb cake said it wasn't crumb cake.) I will make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe was fantastic. My family and I ate it so quickly! Definiely a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
It turned out great but I had no buttermilk so I used a cup of milk and some lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Followed recipe but found the topping not able to cover so I added brown sugar. For dessert I plated a slice an covered it with fresh strawberries. My daughter took it to the next level using chocolate syrup and whip cream and another layer of chocolate syrup. I was going to take a picture but her little mouth was too fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Pretty good! I just put less clove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful moist cake. The cake alone remains fresh for days! I doubled the crumb top in an attempt to imitate a bakery crumb cake I remember as a child. The addition was was a success...my family couldn't believe it was not the cake from the bakery. I also elimated the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Ellen Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very moist cake! I didn't have any buttermilk so I took the tip of another reviewer and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. I would prefer the cake to be slightly sweeter with more crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
it tastes good, but I think the cinnamon should go into the topping, I plan to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Weigand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
was okay not what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States