Old Fashioned Coconut Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Been looking for a gooey coconut cookie for a while and this is the one. Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and added much less cinnamon(1/2 tsp). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made these with half the amount of sugar that was called for and added some apple sauce to add the sweetness and a little moisture back into the dough. I also chopped up some dried apricots and prunes that I had on hand instead of the rasins and it came out excellent. The cookie was not overly sweet and the dried fruit added a little more to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These cookies are fantastic. I replaced the raisins with chocolate chips, which I would definitely recommend. Soft and chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
There was not enough liquid to hold these together, so I added water to the batter. It worked, and these were tasty. I probably won't make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Great cookies! I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and didn't put any glaze on them. I definately recommend these! They did take about 15 minutes to cook instead of 8, but they are wonderful; sightly crispy edges with a soft chewy inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These cookies were awesome! I had to add about 1/4 cup of water to the batter to make it more dough-like. I added chocolate chips instead of raisins and they came out AWESOME. Huge hit with all my friends! They were chewy and moist! The recipe calls for "egg sized" heaps of dough, so they are MASSIVE cookies. I liked that about the cookies, but obviously some people might want to ration out the dough a little more with smaller sized dollops of dough. Not over-powering coconut taste which I liked too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjlee2
Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Mixture was too dry so I added an egg white. Mine baked 8 minutes, perfect time but they were still kinda dry after they cooled. They were just okay, not bad, but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good, I didn't add any raisins, and it turned out pretty well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Not horrible but not great. I too felt that there was not even close to enough liquid to hold everything together and had to use some water. I even omitted the raisins. These cookies need way more then 8 minutes with the size they are. Not sure if i would make again I feel like they are missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I ended up using less sugar and twice the coconut. SO TASTEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States