Old Fashioned Coconut Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I really enjoyed these cookies - fast and easy to make with I had around the kitchen! I'm not a huge fan of cinnamon and raisins with coconut, so I left the raisins out and substituted 2 tbsp cocoa powder for the cinnamon, and about an extra 1/4 cup coconut to make up for the missing raisins. Fantastic! Was worried at first it wasn't moist enough as the mixture wouldn't hold together after stirring, but I found it held together fine when I hand formed the dough into egg sized shapes and flattened them a bit. Cooked them for about 10 min too, since I made 16 slightly larger cookies instead 18. So glad I made these soft, chewy scrumptious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Dunsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These cookies were awesome! I had to add about 1/4 cup of water to the batter to make it more dough-like. I added chocolate chips instead of raisins and they came out AWESOME. Huge hit with all my friends! They were chewy and moist! The recipe calls for "egg sized" heaps of dough, so they are MASSIVE cookies. I liked that about the cookies, but obviously some people might want to ration out the dough a little more with smaller sized dollops of dough. Not over-powering coconut taste which I liked too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjlee2
Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Mixture was too dry so I added an egg white. Mine baked 8 minutes, perfect time but they were still kinda dry after they cooled. They were just okay, not bad, but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good, I didn't add any raisins, and it turned out pretty well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Not horrible but not great. I too felt that there was not even close to enough liquid to hold everything together and had to use some water. I even omitted the raisins. These cookies need way more then 8 minutes with the size they are. Not sure if i would make again I feel like they are missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Been looking for a gooey coconut cookie for a while and this is the one. Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and added much less cinnamon(1/2 tsp). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
There was not enough liquid to hold these together, so I added water to the batter. It worked, and these were tasty. I probably won't make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These cookies are fantastic. I replaced the raisins with chocolate chips, which I would definitely recommend. Soft and chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I ended up using less sugar and twice the coconut. SO TASTEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made these with half the amount of sugar that was called for and added some apple sauce to add the sweetness and a little moisture back into the dough. I also chopped up some dried apricots and prunes that I had on hand instead of the rasins and it came out excellent. The cookie was not overly sweet and the dried fruit added a little more to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States