Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious pie, very time consuming, but very tasty. Next time I will turn the heat up a bit when making the custard so it won't take so long to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This recipe was wonderful! I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used 1/3 cup of cornstarch and left the flour out. I also used half coconut cream (not coconut milk!) and half heavy cream instead of the half and half. While it definitely wasn't low fat or low calorie, it was the most incredibly velvety pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is truly a wonderful, old-fashioned pie. I changed it by substituting corn starch for flour, but everything else the same as written. Not over the top sweet, just right. Thank you for this classic recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
First pie ever. Used advice of others and used 1 can coconut milk, and the rest half cream half milk. I also only toasted the coconut for the topping, and used 3 egg yolks instead of two eggs. Last change was to use 1/4 cup corn starch and 1/4 cup flour. Looks delicious, my taste tester will be home later to review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this pie for Easter dinner & it was amazing! I followed other's advice & used cornstarch in place of flour. I also used cream of coconut that I found in our local liquor dept. I used the whole carton of cream of coconut along with half and half to get three cups. I used three egg yolks in place of the eggs, & plenty of untoasted coconut in the filling. I cooked the filling in the microwave on high for about seven minutes, stirring after every minute. By minute seven the filling was very thick, which meant my pie would not be runny. I placed the filling in my homemade pie crust & refrigerated overnight. In the morning I topped it with whipped heavy cream (whipped with powdered sugar & vanilla) and toasted coconut. The pie was beautiful and tasted great. It has held up well and is almost gone on the second day. The only thing I would do differently is lessen the sugar because the pie was a bit too sweet. Thank you Carol for a wonderful recipe, and thanks to everyone else for your tweaks to the original recipe. I think this is the best pie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Whether you use the original version or the suggestions given by others; this is the best recipe you can possibly find. I've made three different versions so far and each of them was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fcbowden
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Followed a few reviews and mixed and matched till I came up with an amazing pie! I substituted a can of full fat coconut milk and heavy cream for the half and half, along with 1/3 cup cornstarch instead of flour, and three egg yolks instead of two eggs. I guess by the time you make the adjustments it's not really the same pie, but I wanted to make sure it had enough coconut flavor and I love creamy it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband thought this was the best coconut cream pie he'd ever eaten. I used 2 c. half & half an 1 c. Coconut milk with 1/2 tsp. vanilla an 1/2 tsp. coconut extract. It was wonderful. RT Baker, WA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I used one can of coconut milk and then the rest in half and half. It made such a big difference. By far this now the best Coconut Cream pie ever with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Mine turned out too thick... I plan to make again and use maybe 1/3 c thickening. I used half coconut milk and half cream, and a vanilla bean cooked with the mixture then split and scraped the seeds and stirred them into the custard. Also, I will add coconut extract as I think that will really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States