Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love reading recipes, and then the comments. It helps to spark your own creativity! So, I loved the recipe, but taking cues from the reviewers, I decided to mix together 1 cup of heavy cream w/ 13 oz of coconut milk. I used 1 cup of regular milk to mix the sugar, cornstarch and salt in the pot. I decided to use 5 egg yolks, and I slowly whisked the entire mixture of whole milk, cornstarch, salt and sugar into the eggs. Poured that back into the pot (keep whisking, people), I then added the coconut and heavy cream mixture. It was beautiful~!! 2 minutes later, I took it off the heat, still whisking, I added the vanilla, butter, and finally, the combo of toasted and untoasted coconut. Real whipped cream topping, sprinkled with toasted coconut. A total winner!! Everyone loved it, and complained that I didn't make two pies!!! I give it 4 1/2 stars for the ease in modifying it. Thanks for all who contributed to this recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My brother, who is very particular about his Coconut Cream Pie, found this pie was very satisfactory. He liked the flavor. However, I did use marange not whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe. My children have milk allergies so I substituted 1 1/2 cups coconut crème(refrigerated the full fat coconut milk and skimmed off the cream that rose to the top)and 1 1/2 cups rice milk for the half and half. I also used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar. It firmed up nicely. This is going to be a holiday, special occasion staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pie is a work of art, really beautiful. I made it exactly as instructed and although it was good, the coconut flavor was not strong enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Awesome pie, true taste & consistency, I made it with 2 cups of coconut milk & 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and it turned out Wonderful!! Make this pie, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! My son wanted to try coconut cream pie so he found this recipe for me to make. Coworkers who are not coconut fans devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
oh ya! made it with the cornstarch and 1 can of coconut milk and rest up to 3 cups with half and half. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avas meme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made the pie exactly as directed. The filling did not have enough coconut flavor. I should have put more coconut in the filling. It was also too gummy and thick, not light at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have gone back to this recipe again & again! I used the changes of coconut milk & 1/2 and 1/2, I use the cornstarch, and I make my own whipped cream with coconut extract. I hated the regular crust so I used a graham cracker one instead on the next pie and that was perfect! I used to cook at an assisted living facility and the residents loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was WONDERFUL. First time ive ever made a coconut cream pie and my hubby informs me i need to make again :) All our dinner guests loved it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pshorty
Home Town: South Shore, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States