Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Easy to make and a good pie but not the coconut flavor I was hoping for. I did use part coconut milk and the other part half and half. I added coconut extract and toasted only the coconut used for garnish. I didn't want the crunch of toasted coconut in the filling. My family thought this was a good pie. It is. Just not the recipe I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Super easy to make. Full of coconut flavor. I whipped my own cream though since I don't like the frozen stuff and I can control the sweetness. Can't tell you how it compares to other recipes since this is the first time I've made this pie but everyone in the house liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Oh my goodness, is this an amazing pie. You know it's good when there is none leftover! My Father-In-Law is a Coconut Cream Pie connoisseur and he had two slices! I made this with the coconut crust listed elsewhere and it was great. My changes are that I (accidentally) purchased grated coconut instead of flaked, and that worked fine. I did all unsweetened coconut and it made for a tasty and refreshing pie rather than too sweet. I did as other reviewers suggested and did half coconut milk and half 1/2 & 1/2. Then I did three egg yolks and a 1/3 cup cornstarch (also mentioned elsewhere). Finally, I used my microwave like someone else said and it was awesome. It ended up taking my little 700 watt microwave 7 or 8 minutes to get the right consistency (stirring every minute). And last piece of advice, DO NOT use purchased whip cream. Get out your whippers and just make it. This pie deserves fresh whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for my mom's side of the family on Eater and it was a success. Everyone loved it. I think I will make it again for Thanksgiving along with a banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used the coconut milk + whipping cream, subbed in 1/3 c cornstarch as many suggested. I think the people who are complaining about it not setting are not heating it gently for long enough -- it should be basically thickened all the way BEFORE you take it off the stovetop... heating the flour/cornstarch activates it to thicken. FANTASTIC recipe -- can't wait to make it for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this pie for the first time during the holidays; and will be making it again for Easter dinner. An easy pie to put together and loved by all the coconut crazies in my family. This pie is very sweet, but quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was Ok...it tasted somewhat like tapioca. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe today for the first time - I can't seem to get it to set. I took the filling back out of the pie shell and tried to re-thicken it with more flour and it still doesn't seem to want to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a lovely pie. It was moist and just the right consistency. It was all eaten in no more than three days after it was made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The best pie ever...I changed it up some. I used 1 1/2 cups of coconut milk and 1 1/2 cups of half and half instead of the 3 cups of half and half. I also put chopped walnuts in the pie shell when baking it. This gives the crust an extra crunch and who doesn't like toasted walnuts? I would recommend this pie to everyone. It is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States