Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great! Must be the half and half! Turned out like a pro. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Gave this a 5 star for the simple and foolproof process! I did change a few ingredients: the whole eggs to 3 egg yolks, the half and half to whole milk, we like a bit more coconut so I added more! ...And at the very end I added a tablespoon of butter. LOVED IT! It will go into my family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Hands down this was/IS amazing!! Very easy a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Soooo good, and not the usual pain in the butt way to make custard. Throw everything into a pot and whisk while it heats to a boil and voila, custard. I added an extra egg yolk, half coconut cream/half and half, and corn starch instead of flour and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I gave it a 4 only because I did the tweeks in the comments. With the heavy cream, coconut milk and corn starch it was ANAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
As several others have noted, the filling did not set. I cooked the custard on low until it got as thick as it could without scrambling the eggs. It just didn't seem to thicken as custard usually does. I still give it an extra star because it tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I followed the suggestion of others and used half coconut milk and half sweet cream(we dont't have half and half in central america) and the pie turned our perfect. plenty of flavor and thickens up very well. The reviewers who complained about it not thickening probably didnt cook the custard long enough. If you want a creamy pie this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tobin heath
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I substitute 2cups of coconut milk and 1 cup of half and half and turns out an instant classic! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobin heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is Absolutely the Best coconut cream pie recipe! I've made it 4 times and it was delicious every time. My family loves it...the only thing I do different is add extra coconut ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee Chestnut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the pie never set. We ate it in bowls with spoons, so not to waste it. Very tasty. Next time, I will try the canned coconut milk, which I remember is nearly a solid at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States