Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
There are a few flaws.... 1. No coconut milk = minimal coconut flavor 2. "whipped topping" = chemical and nutritional nightmare. This stuff has no place in the kitchen and it's odd flavor affects this pie. It would seem that shortcuts like this result in a lesser quality pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was awesome! I did make it with 1 1/2 c. coconut milk and 1 1/2 c. heavy whipping cream. Cooked it in the microwave for between 5-6 min, whisking after each minute until it thickened. I did not toast the coconut in the pie, just what went on top. Also make my own whipped topping with 1 c. heavy whipping cream, 1 tsp coconut extract & 3 T. powdered sugar. Don't make the topping until shortly before serving. Mine whipped up nice, but turned too creamy overnight, so it was messy. Still good, just messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocsPunkin
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for the 4th of July. I took other suggestion and I subbed 1.5 cup of the half and half for canned coconut milk. I also subbed the flour with 1/3 cup corn starch. I used fresh coconut from the organic self serve bin. It was DELISH! My whole family loved it. It was amazingly easy and quick to make! I will definitely find a reason to make this pie again, very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was soooo good. I made it exactly as written, and it turned out great. My (hard to impress) husband even said that it was the best coconut cream pie he'd ever tasted. I think next time I'll follow other users' advice and substitute some of the half and half for coconut milk to bring out even more of the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Apothecaryrx
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe! I did substitute corn starch in place of flour and added egg yolks (3) to recipe. I added frozen coconut (2 cups) , coconut milk instead of all half and half ( you can do 1.5 cups coconut milk and 1.5 cups heavy cream or half and half) for a coconutty flavor . For the toping I whipped my own cream. The filling consistency was great and if you want a less firm filling just add less corn starch (start with 1/3 cup) as you are heating up your filling. If you want to add more starch add it to 2 tablespoons half and half , stir then add to saucepan. If you add starch directly to pan, it will clump. when heating make sure it bubbles slightly at edges of pan, while constantly stirring then you know you the filling has set. Be patient it will set! do not have the heat on too high. Thanks for sharing for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was awesome. I am allergic to soy and so many store bought pies have soybean oil so it was great to find an easy recipe to make at home. I did use a can of coconut milk in place of about 2 cups of the half in half and I used 1/3 cup cornstarch instead of flour as many suggested. I also added an extra egg. My daughter and I tripled the recipe to make 3 pies at once for us and our family. We had all three pies made in less than 45 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Yum! This pie was fabulous. I made it in a cookie crumb crust. Like others, I used a can of cocoanut milk as part of the 3 cups of liquid, and used soy milk for the remainder. I also used 3 egg yolks instead of two eggs, and replaced half the flour with cornstarch. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I had never made a coconut creme pie. My dad requested one as a gift, and let me tell you, he's a pie junkie and critic. No joke, he says this is the best he had ever had, and trust me, he'd be truthful about it. Swears its better than anything he ever bought at a bakery. Only thing I changed along with a couple other people, use 1.5 cups milk and 1.5 cups coconut milk. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Made this pie with coconut cream and half & half. Did not bake the coconut that went into the pie, but did bake the coconut for decorating. Added a tiny pinch of cream of tarter to the whipped cream topping. Leftover pie stored in fridge was still excellent on the 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I read many of the reviews and did make some changes but I still ended up with the pie not setting up firmly. I also found that the recipe was just a little to sweet for me. I will try this recipe again but will reduce the sugar and try corn starch instead of flour for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 31-40 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States