Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Used the suggestions for coconut milk and half & half...turned out amazing! I make this pie every now and again. It turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Easy to make, tastes amazing and looks beautiful! For a chocolate version, I added 4 Tbs of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made the changes suggested by previous reviewers (1.5 c coconut milk, 1.5 c blend, corn starch instead of flour). I used flaked coconut from a bag as I couldn't find frozen, untoasted in the custard and toasted on top. I used real whipped cream, 1cup with 2 tbsp sugar and 1tsp coconut flavouring instead of vanilla. I also cooked the custard in the microwave, I did 1 minute intervals stirring after each min, took 7 minutes. I had enough filling for 12 tarts and 1 8" pie shell. Super yummy and surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I whipped 2 cups of cream stabilized with gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisah Bluespruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made my first Coconut pie, ever...it was delicious. I made the recipe by Carol H., but added the following to it based on previous comments. One, I added 2tbsp of cornstarch to the filling with a tsp. of coconut extract. I toasted about a 1/4 cup of slice almonds and added it to the coconut topping. I sprinkled it on top of the whip cream mixture,ohlala. I never like coconut pie, simply, because they never tasted like coconut. We ate half and I froze the rest. This is an A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I made it exactly as 'H' described in ther rreview below and used 1 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1 1/2 cups of half & half. I used flour and not corn starch. It took 25 minutes, but it got thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made it for Pi Day 3.14.15. I followed the recipe as written, but stirred the custard until it thickened, took about 5 minutes. When I first put the custard into the shell, I thought it was bland, but after chilling, the coconut flavor infused the custard beautifully. Best coconut pie I've ever had, including my favorite local restaurateur's famous one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe. I used two cups of half & half and a can of sweetened condensed milk and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. And used 1/3 cup of corn starch in place of flour. Husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made my own cookie crust and took the advice of others and did two cups of half and half and one cup of coconut milk. I topped it with homemade whipped cream. Let's just say that we were very sad when we ate the last of this pie! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Everyone absolutely loved it. This recipe is the only one I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marylee

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,010) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States