Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I disagree with the negative reviews wholeheartedly. I made this for our first married Thanksgiving this year because my father-in-law and husband absolutely love coconut cream pie and I had yet to find one that's up to scratch because I'm very picky about my pie :) Being our first time hosting Thanksgiving, I was nervous but this pie was PERFECT. This is it! It is by far one of the easiest cream pie recipes I've tried, and set up beautifully. My husband loved it so much I'm making him another right now! I did add a little more coconut, because I love coconut, and I used a graham cracker crust and topped with fresh homemade whipped cream. The pie was gone in a second! Make it! Make it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I took the top reviewer's suggestion and made the filling with half coconut milk, half half-n-half. I also used pure vanilla extract and doubled the amount. We LOVED this pie. I think it could use more flaked coconut but really, that's being nitpicky. Sososososo very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really liked this pie...even though I forgot the vanilla! Very good and only thing I changed was added extra coconut to the filling. I will be making this again soon. Thank you for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Candice M. Rubio
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a good pie. I liked that it was easy to make. The only thing that I really have to comment on is that when the pie was done and ready to be eatin. I cut into it and it had some liquid in it that I know shouldn't have been there. I added a bit more coconut to the mixture and put more coconut toasts on top. Everyone liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice M. Rubio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made this pie twice in the last two days, the changes I made were using 1 cup coconut milk and 2 cups half and half, and I used coconut extract and vanilla extract, I also used the microwave instead of the double boiler...both times it came our really good....everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was outstanding!!!!! I did do the half coconut milk, 1/2 whipping cream recipe. Also, because the mixture (to me) tasted a little constarch-y while it was hot off the oven, I poured a little coconut extract in the mix which really MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE! I love how with this recipe you can literally change things around and this will still taste delicious! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was silky, smooth and oh so creammmy! I left the coconut inside the cream untoasted and the coconut on top toasted. This was so good! I will definitely make this again. I made my own whipped cream, bu be careful not to make it too sweet. I used a bout 1 1/2 small carton of whipping cream, about 3 heaping tablespoons (real spoon, not an actual tablespoon) of powdered sugar and poured a little vanilla extract. Afterwards, I thouht hmm, maybe I should have used coconut extract. Either way it would be fine! and also, I had some whipped cream left over that I took to Thanksgiving and people ate it with a spoon it was so good! It tasted like real whipped cream, so I'm glad I used vanilla extract. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very creamy texture and delicious but I will omit the flour next time because it didn't thicken up as much as I wanted it to. I had to stick the pie in the freezer to thicken overnight. Next time I will use cornstarch and coconut cream. All in all, it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was thrilled to find an easy and delicious scratch coconut pie! 5 stars with these changes: I used the microwave method that others recommended and it's true it works like a charm, so go ahead and try it. I used 1/4 C of flour and 1/4 C cornstarch, but I would recommend only using cornstarch bc it dissolves and mixes in more easily without any lumps imo. Other tips: I used 1/2 coconut milk 1/2 whole milk, coconut extract, 2 eggs and 1 yolk. My coconut took longer to brown-13 mins, but take the time to toast it, bc it really brings out the coconut flavor and it's a pretty presentation. If you make the whipped topping recommended by others here, it makes way too much for one pie. I would half it:( 1/2 carton of heavy whipping cream, I preferred 3 T of the confectioners sugar instead of 2, 1 tsp vanilla). I piped mine on and it looked amazing. I also used a 9 inch deep dish pie crust and it was filled with only a little left over, which we used for sampling. ;) I made this pie the day bf Thanksgiving so it had a long time to set up, so I can't vouch for the time it takes to set. I made the whipped topping the day I was serving it. Loved this pie!!! Thanks OP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Best ------ Pie ------ Ever!!!!!!! I've tried this one quite a few times and now I double the recipe and use cream of coconut, adding enough half and half or milk (or combination of the two) to fill in the rest of the amount of liquid needed. I also use frozen coconut for the filling instead of the toasted sweetened coconut, and this is the tastiest thing ever. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This tastes just like my grandma's. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States