Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Anyone who had problems with this recipe needs to try again! Make sure you bring the mixture to a boil! This is a delicious pie and so very easy to make. I've been making this for 3 years at the restaurants I work, and have worked at. It's a HUGE hit!! The only things I changed were using half vanilla, half coconut extract and I add a little more coconut than called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Fresh squeezed lime juice, coconut milk and young coconut take this recipe to another level! And you can also make a great finger desert with this by putting into mini phyllo shells (found in freezer section) just before serving. Just reheat if they get soggy. I have made this recipe several times and can't stress enough to use a can of coconut milk (or if you're really lucky enough to find coconut creme) along with the half & half. I get mine at an Asian grocery as it's significantly cheaper there than chain stores. After the mix is cooked and has cooled a little, I squeeze one lime into it for extra zing. I also find fresh young coconut better than packaged shredded. Young coconut is a slimy, fleshy substance that is not dry like mature coconut and I think that dry texture is why a lot of people say they don't like coconut. It's extra work to have to crack open the shell (pays to research on internet) but you get the extra benefit of healthful chilled coconut water w lime to drink later. They're sold at chain grocers too. Recently I did see canned young coconut at the Asian grocer so I may just use that next time. I only used frozen shredded once with this recipe and didn't like the texture of the custard at all compared to the smooth young meat. I'm thinking you really don't need coconut at all, if you have fussy eaters, as the coconut milk will give it enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great recipe with the substitution of coconut milk for 1/2 of the cream. Use cornstarch instead of flour, as so many others suggested. To those who say it turned out like soup, you overcooked the filling. Cook only until it breaks bubbles for about 1 minute. To the lady who asked what 1/2 and 1/2 is, it is a common coffee cream and is anywhere from 12-18% fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Graham
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My first coconut cream our and it was a great hit with the gang! I didn't have enough cream so I substituted 2 % milk and added an extra egg yolk to thicken.. I used flour, did not add toasted coconut to the filling and cooked until thick. Came or beauty, bounding high in the crust.. Will make again but with added coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Al
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have impressed the pants off my family! I used a Mrs. Smith's pie crust. Easy to make, spectacular results. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gandeeville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Ohhh, this pie is to die for!! Tastes just like the ones I remember my late mama and mawmaw making. I did make a few modifications that didn't sacrifice the overall result - using 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 whole eggs, fat-free half-and-half, doubled the vanilla, added 2 T. butter, and used an 8-oz tub Cool Whip on top. To speed up the cooling process of the filling, I placed the pot in a sink of ice and water, whisking occasionally, until it was cool and thick, about 10 minutes. I only toasted the coconut for the top of the pie. Dessert, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this the other day and it did not set at all! I still gave it a 2 because the pie still tasted good. I'm going to use cornstarch instead of flower next time like some of the other reviews said and see if it works. If it does then I do think this recipe will be a keeper after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I'm quite a fan of coconut cream pie and this recipe is definitely a tried and true good pie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
AWESOME!!!! just AWESOME!! best coconut cream pie I have ever eaten I woundn't change a thing I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first coconut cream pie I ever made and it turned out fantastic. It was a hit at the dinner party I brought it to. I made changes, some that were recommended by others: made my own graham crust using graham crumbs, melted butter and also added about 1/4 cup toasted coconut into the crust. I added 1 1/2 cups half and half and 1 1/2 cups coconut milk. I added an extra egg yolk to ensure firmness (based on what others wrote). I topped it all with fresh whipping cream I whipped, adding in a tsp of coconut flavouring and some icing sugar to sweeten it a bit. Topped it all off with the toasted coconut. Also, I cooked it in the micro as per others had suggested....much easier this way!!! All in all....a real winner.....have already made it again with great success.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States