Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Ashley H
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I just made this pie today and I'm on my 2nd piece already! I took the suggestions of others and used 1.5 cups coconut milk and 1.5 cups half&half, and I used 3 egg yolks instead of 2 whole eggs. I also used the microwave method as some people suggested, and it was ready in exactly 7 minutes (whisking every minute). I will DEFINITELY be making this pie in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We loved this recipe. We made these changes 3 cups cream and 1/3 cup cornstarch. Roasted 2 cups of coconut, mixed in 1 cup of coconut in the coconut cream made on stove top. Made whipped topping for on top by mixing 1 cup whipping cream and 2 teaspoon of sugar in mixer for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abraham Yaksich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great! Must be the half and half! Turned out like a pro. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Gave this a 5 star for the simple and foolproof process! I did change a few ingredients: the whole eggs to 3 egg yolks, the half and half to whole milk, we like a bit more coconut so I added more! ...And at the very end I added a tablespoon of butter. LOVED IT! It will go into my family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Hands down this was/IS amazing!! Very easy a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Soooo good, and not the usual pain in the butt way to make custard. Throw everything into a pot and whisk while it heats to a boil and voila, custard. I added an extra egg yolk, half coconut cream/half and half, and corn starch instead of flour and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I gave it a 4 only because I did the tweeks in the comments. With the heavy cream, coconut milk and corn starch it was ANAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
As several others have noted, the filling did not set. I cooked the custard on low until it got as thick as it could without scrambling the eggs. It just didn't seem to thicken as custard usually does. I still give it an extra star because it tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I followed the suggestion of others and used half coconut milk and half sweet cream(we dont't have half and half in central america) and the pie turned our perfect. plenty of flavor and thickens up very well. The reviewers who complained about it not thickening probably didnt cook the custard long enough. If you want a creamy pie this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tobin heath
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I substitute 2cups of coconut milk and 1 cup of half and half and turns out an instant classic! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobin heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States