Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Just made this Awesome pie for my Boyfriend as a Birthday pie and He is willing to fight to keep it all to himself !! I did not use the flour but sub it with the Corn Starch took less time to thicken the filling and I also used the coconut milk made the filling taste like coconut , and I hope all who try this one don't cook the frozen coconut flakes add to filling as is it's MMMM . For topping I bought a large cool whip used half the tub and an 8oz cream cheese and added 1 tsp Vanilla Extract the real stuff and electric mixer and added the toasted frozen coconut on top!! This pie reminds me of my GrandMother and her baking when I was a little Girl . Good luck to you all with this one and thanks to the ones who put their ideas In this .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
The consistency is very good, however when using the half coconut milk and half 1/2 & 1/2 combination, the filling is way too sweet. It needs no added sugar at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
not great, the filling had no taste, it was like eating thickened milk. I would guess the coconut milk might help the taste. I had no problem with it setting up. I tried extra sugar, butter and vanilla to try and make it taste better. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Easy to make and a good pie but not the coconut flavor I was hoping for. I did use part coconut milk and the other part half and half. I added coconut extract and toasted only the coconut used for garnish. I didn't want the crunch of toasted coconut in the filling. My family thought this was a good pie. It is. Just not the recipe I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Super easy to make. Full of coconut flavor. I whipped my own cream though since I don't like the frozen stuff and I can control the sweetness. Can't tell you how it compares to other recipes since this is the first time I've made this pie but everyone in the house liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Oh my goodness, is this an amazing pie. You know it's good when there is none leftover! My Father-In-Law is a Coconut Cream Pie connoisseur and he had two slices! I made this with the coconut crust listed elsewhere and it was great. My changes are that I (accidentally) purchased grated coconut instead of flaked, and that worked fine. I did all unsweetened coconut and it made for a tasty and refreshing pie rather than too sweet. I did as other reviewers suggested and did half coconut milk and half 1/2 & 1/2. Then I did three egg yolks and a 1/3 cup cornstarch (also mentioned elsewhere). Finally, I used my microwave like someone else said and it was awesome. It ended up taking my little 700 watt microwave 7 or 8 minutes to get the right consistency (stirring every minute). And last piece of advice, DO NOT use purchased whip cream. Get out your whippers and just make it. This pie deserves fresh whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for my mom's side of the family on Eater and it was a success. Everyone loved it. I think I will make it again for Thanksgiving along with a banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used the coconut milk + whipping cream, subbed in 1/3 c cornstarch as many suggested. I think the people who are complaining about it not setting are not heating it gently for long enough -- it should be basically thickened all the way BEFORE you take it off the stovetop... heating the flour/cornstarch activates it to thicken. FANTASTIC recipe -- can't wait to make it for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this pie for the first time during the holidays; and will be making it again for Easter dinner. An easy pie to put together and loved by all the coconut crazies in my family. This pie is very sweet, but quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was Ok...it tasted somewhat like tapioca. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States