Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this smooth creamy custurd, and then put it in cream puffs. Drizzled with chocolate and powdered sugar. To the custard i made some slight changes. I had no half and half so i used 2 cups cream and 1 cup coconut milk. Next time i think ill try using 3 egg yoks instead of 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This pie is absolutely the best coconut pie i have ever tasted!!! Took others suggestions and used 1/2 half and half and half coconut milk, 3 egg yolks and 1/2 c cornstarch. Cooked in the microwave (mine took 6 mins) stirring after every minute. I think i ate a cup of filling before i made myself put it in the pie shell then realized i forgot vanilla, but it really didnt need it! Thank you for posting this recipe! I will be making for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Oh my, this is really good , it was the perfect coconut cream pie and amazingly easy to do I made a homemade butter crust with this filling best homemade pie yet . Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Amazing!!! Made this for my cousins and one said she wanted it as her birthday cake. Great texture and flavour. It doesn't hurt to just chill the filling in bowls and make pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I have tried for 25 years to find a coconut cream pie recipe my husband likes as well as the ones he had as a child. He says this is the best pie he ever tasted-- Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciaottaway
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my first time making coconut cream pie. I did a couple of things different from the recipe based on what I figured would suit our preferences. I used 2 cups coconut milk, and made 1 cup half and half substitute (none on hand) by combining 1 1/2 T. melted butter and enough milk to make a full cup. I also subbed 1/3 cup cornstarch for the flour. Everything else was the same. I cooked it in the microwave (can't remember exactly how long, but it was around 8 minutes), stirred every minute with a whisk, and let it cool for about 10 or 15 minutes after stirring in the coconut and vanilla, stirring every few minutes to help speed cooling before putting it in the crust. I also made homemade whipped topping, another first for me and I was pleased with how easy it was to make. The only thing wrong with the pie was that I didn't put quite enough sugar in the whipped topping...my mistake! Great pie, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. I made homemade whipped cream for the top instead of the frozen. Everybody loved it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used 2 cups half & half and 1 cup milk...I also used graham cracker crust...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States