Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I'm quite a fan of coconut cream pie and this recipe is definitely a tried and true good pie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
AWESOME!!!! just AWESOME!! best coconut cream pie I have ever eaten I woundn't change a thing I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first coconut cream pie I ever made and it turned out fantastic. It was a hit at the dinner party I brought it to. I made changes, some that were recommended by others: made my own graham crust using graham crumbs, melted butter and also added about 1/4 cup toasted coconut into the crust. I added 1 1/2 cups half and half and 1 1/2 cups coconut milk. I added an extra egg yolk to ensure firmness (based on what others wrote). I topped it all with fresh whipping cream I whipped, adding in a tsp of coconut flavouring and some icing sugar to sweeten it a bit. Topped it all off with the toasted coconut. Also, I cooked it in the micro as per others had suggested....much easier this way!!! All in all....a real winner.....have already made it again with great success.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Love it! Coconut pie is one of my faves and this did not disappoint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Amazing!!!! My hubby loves the flavor of coconut but not the texture (weird I know) made this today with half coconut milk and the remaining half & half to make 3 cups and 2 teaspoons coconut extract and 1 of vanilla. Best one I have made ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this for the first time with some changes. used 1/3C cornstarch instead of flour. used 1 1/2 C coconut milk and 1 1/2C half/half. did not toast coconut in custard but did toast for topping. cooked custard in microwave which took 11 minutes in my old microwave I made my own whipped topping. I will be making this again. I already have this pie on my Thanksgiving list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was excellent and easy to make. I had NO problem with this setting up - but it does require a little patience during the cooking process. I made mini-pies with half of the recipe and with the other half I made parfaits by layering graham cracker crumbs in the bottom of the cup followed by the pie filling, then whipped topping, then toasted coconut. I cut little circles from my remaining pie dough and garnished the parfaits with them. I took several desserts to a function and these parfaits were the hit of the function. Rave reviews and people going back for seconds. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Carol H.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is by fare the best coconut cream pie ever! I did as the others suggested and 1 1/2 C Coconut milk and 1 1/2 C half and half always turns out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent pie as is. I made it per the recipe. I agree that it's a custard pie, like some of the reviewers said, but a great custard nevertheless. I put the custard mix in a glass bowl in the microwave and did the 5 minutes stirring each 60 seconds; turned out perfect this way, and much quicker and less mess to clean up. I put the whole cup of coconut in the custard, but I think next time I make it I will add at least another 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut, and maybe coconut milk in place of some half and half for more flavor. I saved the 4 egg whites and made a meringue to go on top of the pie. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is delicious! I did not make any changes to it. I followed the directions exactly and I made sure the mixture on the stove top really thickened up. I have made this 3 times already. The first time I did what everyone said, to use cornstarch instead of flour. It was horrible and chalky and disgusting. I think it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 996) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States