Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this pie for the first time during the holidays; and will be making it again for Easter dinner. An easy pie to put together and loved by all the coconut crazies in my family. This pie is very sweet, but quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was Ok...it tasted somewhat like tapioca. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe today for the first time - I can't seem to get it to set. I took the filling back out of the pie shell and tried to re-thicken it with more flour and it still doesn't seem to want to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a lovely pie. It was moist and just the right consistency. It was all eaten in no more than three days after it was made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The best pie ever...I changed it up some. I used 1 1/2 cups of coconut milk and 1 1/2 cups of half and half instead of the 3 cups of half and half. I also put chopped walnuts in the pie shell when baking it. This gives the crust an extra crunch and who doesn't like toasted walnuts? I would recommend this pie to everyone. It is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have to admit I always made this kind of pie out of a pudding. Thought I'd try the "old fashion way". NEVER again will my pie come out of a box. This recipe is amazing, although I did make the change that most recommended using 1 c. coconut milk and 2 c. half n half. The taste was excellent. It thickened quite nice using flour. Thanks again for submitting this recipe. (and my husband thanks you too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My first coconut cream pie--so good! Thank you Carol, and all the other super chefs whose advice I always consider and respect. You certainly add to my joy of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This recipe came out delicious!!! My grandmother is smiling down on me from heaven! I've never made a boiled custard pie such as this, and my first time I was a little scared because it boiled really quickly and set fast! I kept it in the fridge for up to 5 days and the crust and the pie consistency were still perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've never made a coconut cream pie before and I don't have to look for another recipe after finding this one! It was amazing and easy. Like some other reviews I did use coconut milk and then filled the rest quota of 3 cups with the half and half. Gave it a nice creamy coconut taste! Everyone loved this pie so recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This pie is so delicious! I will definitely make it again. I used 1.5c coconut milk and 1.5c half and half, and 1/4 tsp. coconut extract in place of 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, made my own pie shell and made my own whipped cream. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States