Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Thie first fudge recipe I have ever tried and it worked! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was the best fudge hands down that I've had. Very smooth and creamy and not overly sweet. It's the first time I've ever made fudge and it turned out great. I followed the directions exactly. I also topped it with a peanut butter and cream cheese topping. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I'm really a novice at candy making. Just bought myself a candy thermometer. But I have my masters in biochem. That said, I followed the recipe to the letter and treated it like the chemical rxn it really is. And it turned out perfectly! Used exact quantities of ingredients on an electric stove on a rainy NY day. While bringing to a boil I used a wet pastry brush to rinse down sugar crystals from the sides of my calphalon 2.5 quart stainless. Also rinsed my wooden spoon off for same reason once sugar became more or less dissolved. Once it came to a boil I inserted thermometer and turned heat down to simmer and did not touch until proper temp was reached. Turned out fantastic. Ask my toddler, she stole three squares before I caught on to her lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is the best fudge I have ever had! I'm a first time fudge maker, I followed the instructions, and it came out perfectly. I was afraid that I hadn't beaten it long enough but after about 30 seconds of "have I beaten it long enough? Is it losing its sheen? I think it's losing its sheen..." I just decided to go for it. I had stirred for 12 minutes. After I poured it into the prepared pan, it set up to an amazing velvety soft fudge in about 15 minutes. I should also note that I used almond milk and vegan margarine because my son is allergic to cow's milk protein, and I didn't expect it to turn out at all, I'm amazed that it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
5 stars for the experience! I just became a member so i could rate this recipe and its reviews! thanks so much for all the hints! i am an amateur fudge maker and amazingly it came out! phew - that was the most chaotic 20 minutes of my life! in a mixing bowl i premixed the first 3 ingredients with the addition of one instant coffee packet which in hindsight is too overpowering and i tried to compensate with 2 more rounded TBL of cocoa. i had everything ready before i began including the buttered pot and baking pan. once the mixture came to a boil over medium on my gas range in 2 minutes of heating i lost all order and continued with the soft ball testing 30 seconds or so. after 9 failed tests i took a fresh spoon and tasted the texture which instantly reminded me of the "velvety smooth" texture i had read in reviews. i took a moment to ponder whether it was done and decided to take it off the heat. after a minute or so i added the cut up butter and vanilla. stirring once it had cooled to the mid 100s took about 7 minutes. it was very evident the fudge was starting to thicken about half way through. from what i can tell it is smooth and yummy! fyi i used 2% milk and it was a rainy day. the fudge is perhaps slightly too sweet and i may adjust that next time but first i will let the taste-testers try it. i will definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made this and got impatient and poured it into the pan before it had totally reached soft ball stage and it didn't set. After much debate I put it all back in the saucepan the next day and reboiled it and this time didn't cut corners and it actually worked and set correctly the second time around. I made it for my grandparents and boyfriend and they raved it was the best fudge they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are good but they are a challenge to make. Always hard. Will try to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is the way I made fudge many, many years ago. It is truely an old-fashioned recipe. This is how my dad showed me how to make fudge when I was just a little scrapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cliffnorthupjr

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this fudge EXACTLY as written and it didn't thicken. I know something must have gone very wrong, but I don't know what. I used a candy thermometer to make sure the temps were right but to no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have finally found the lost recipe which was lost from being passed down from my Grand Mother to my mother and then to me. The only difference is that our old recipe called for brown sugar too. So I substituted 1/2 of white with brown. Turned out well. I also recommend NOT to stir it after the initial mix together. I kept a few clean dry spoons on the side to periodically test for the "soft ball" stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States