Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T and it came out like sticky caramel and would not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. It made no sense to me to reduce to simmer during the boil but I went ahead and followed the directions and all it did was lose too much heat and then at the simmer it was on the heat too long and burnt in the pan. I'll stick to Hershey's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Valtin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So, funny story about this recipe. I have this exact recipe passed down to me from my Grandma, but I never met my Grandma so I always made it the way my mom made it. That meant when we tested the fudge in water the fudge needed to make a hard ball (not a soft ball) and it was never beaten. It was always more like a......chocolate hard candy almost. I managed to tweak it so that it was more grainy and soft, but not really FUDGE. So THIS time after reading this recipe it came out like fudge! I'm so excited! I wish my Grandma was around for me to have asked her how SHE made it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I mix mine with a stand-up mixer, so I stop mixing after 2 minutes 30 seconds. If the consistency is too runny, I continue mixing in 30 second intervals. I don't mix until the mixture looses its gloss because the fudge will turn out too dry. It's my fault for using a stand-up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I cooked this using my candy thermometer to 238 degrees. I let it cool to about 160 degrees before adding the butter and vanilla. After adding the butter it lost it's sheen in about 1 minute and got really crumbly. I have pressed it into the pan and I'm hoping once it cools I can possibly cut it. I was really hoping this would come out good because I am making goodie trays for work. This one will not be going into the trays. I will stick to another no fail recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The taste is great and double the ingredients would make this a favorite. Pretty thin, and I don't see 60 squares coming out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Im goin to be makin this fudge for the first time this week. I remember when I was little watching my grandma make it every year. I remember she always buttered the plate she poured on & I couldnt hardly wait for it to set so I could have some. Im hopin mine will turn out just as good as hers always did. I even have the big pot she used to make it in so how can it go wrong. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is my all time favorite fudge! It does take precise timing to turn out just right! Its been our family recipe for years! At least the original Hersheys cocoa one is. No better fudge!! I use an electric mixer instead of spoon, works faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have never made old fashioned fudge before and this turned out beautifully. I followed the advice on other reviews and buttered the pot before adding ingredients, used a candy thermometer, and wiped around the edge of the pan before stirring. Turned out creamy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is the fudge my mom always made for holidays. I learned how to make it from her and now I'm teaching the nieces and nephews. It does take practice to figure out just when to pour it into the pan. Mom always said it has to be gloppy. When it's done right it is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States