Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
FIRST TIME REAL FUDGE MAKER! Read the reviews and picked up on the Hershey's can recipe. Used the old can recipe and followed for the most part but used heavy cream 40% and the results are fantasic! I had no thermometer so I used the drop test and all was fine. I will try the 110 degree temp next time to aid in less beating. My boyfriend would not let me use chocolate chips or the box mix so I have found this recipe to really be much better and almost as easy. Goodbye to premix kits and the awful marshmellow creme mix. They don't even come close. Wish I had a slab of marble to pour on, this tempurs the mix much faster. Tomorrow I will make him Tiramisu. He always says nothing better than lovin from the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
DELICIOUS..... But not quite worth the hassle, in my opinion. It didn't yield anywhere near 60 pieces, and maybe I did something wrong, but it came out kind of grainy, (maybe the sugar didn't dissolve properly). Not that it wasn't good, because it was, and it was eaten quickly, but next time I'll stick to the marshmallow/chocolate chip recipes. This was my first fudge recipe that I didn't make with marshmallows and chocolate chips, and it still tasted very delicious, but it was no better or worse than the chocolate chip/marshmallow kind., and neither my husband nor I were able to tell a difference between this recipe and the one with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I like that just a few things I had at home could make fudge that being said this recipe was short of some needed information. First of all the soft ball stage took some time, the hand beating also to loose the sheen also took a long time it would have been nice to say aprox how long each step would take eg.. five to ten min to soft ball stage etc.. or till hell freezes over what ever just to give an idea of how long is needed to make the fudge. After all is said and done the fudge came out nice, chocolaty, smooth wish it was a little more firm but the kids are enjoying eating it from the fridge ah gotta luv teanagers. This recipe is worth a try if you have nothing better to do for an aprox an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My favorite fudge recipe! I make it exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fab, the third time I made it I felt brave enough to deviate from the recipe and throw in a handful of chopped white chocolate at the end with the butter. It gives a milky lighter taste and a more "fudge-like" colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow - this is a wonderful recipe; however, the success or failure definately depends on a) getting the mixture off the heat just as soon as the soft ball forms in ice water and b) you're going to beat this for awhile - however, just as soon as it begins to lose it's sheen - STOP! Pour it into your pan and wait for chocolately heaven! (I made this recipe once before and it turned out awful - dry and crumbly. Made the necessary adjustments and it was absolutely wonderful!) Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This makes the best fudge ever if you do it right. Follow the directions TO THE T. Don't skimp out on work. Real fudge takes work.... and tastes AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
If you're like me, never made fudge or any kind of candy, save yourself a couple of failed batches and go to the 'how to make fudge' section in this site. Youtube also has some how-to-make fudge demos where you can actually see what softball stage looks like, what the fudge should look like when you stir it, etc. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE This brought a flood of memories of me making fudge with my grandpa when I was a little girl. I can't wait to share this experience with my little girl. And...it came out perfect the 1st time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great and easy! Just don't stir after it reaches boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States