Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe is so easy. I have made it twice now 1st time with nuts 2nd time no nuts. I used a candy thermomoter.Followed the recipe to the letter. Turned out perfect. I don't like fudge that melts in your hand because it is so creamy. This is the perfect fudge for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Well this seemed to work. We tried two other recipes first that failed badly. It could be that here in calgary near the mountains with our higher elevation boiling point is different. We only went to 225 and it was at soft ball stage. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gertrude
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I was looking for a simple yet traditional recipe for fudge and this proved to be a great one. I had a little trouble knowing when the soft-ball stage occurred- for me it took nearly half and hour simmering. It would have helped if the time was listed in the recipe so those who don't own a candy thermometer would know. I beat my fudge for 5-10 minutes after adding the butter as suggested in the betty crocker cookbook. Great recipe- I do recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maylward
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Fantastic recipe. It was my first time making fudge ever and it turned out 100x better than expected. I made it exactly as the recipe said with perfect results. Will definitely make this again, might toss in mint extract or chopped walnuts next time for a bit of variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Thie first fudge recipe I have ever tried and it worked! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was the best fudge hands down that I've had. Very smooth and creamy and not overly sweet. It's the first time I've ever made fudge and it turned out great. I followed the directions exactly. I also topped it with a peanut butter and cream cheese topping. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I'm really a novice at candy making. Just bought myself a candy thermometer. But I have my masters in biochem. That said, I followed the recipe to the letter and treated it like the chemical rxn it really is. And it turned out perfectly! Used exact quantities of ingredients on an electric stove on a rainy NY day. While bringing to a boil I used a wet pastry brush to rinse down sugar crystals from the sides of my calphalon 2.5 quart stainless. Also rinsed my wooden spoon off for same reason once sugar became more or less dissolved. Once it came to a boil I inserted thermometer and turned heat down to simmer and did not touch until proper temp was reached. Turned out fantastic. Ask my toddler, she stole three squares before I caught on to her lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is the best fudge I have ever had! I'm a first time fudge maker, I followed the instructions, and it came out perfectly. I was afraid that I hadn't beaten it long enough but after about 30 seconds of "have I beaten it long enough? Is it losing its sheen? I think it's losing its sheen..." I just decided to go for it. I had stirred for 12 minutes. After I poured it into the prepared pan, it set up to an amazing velvety soft fudge in about 15 minutes. I should also note that I used almond milk and vegan margarine because my son is allergic to cow's milk protein, and I didn't expect it to turn out at all, I'm amazed that it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
5 stars for the experience! I just became a member so i could rate this recipe and its reviews! thanks so much for all the hints! i am an amateur fudge maker and amazingly it came out! phew - that was the most chaotic 20 minutes of my life! in a mixing bowl i premixed the first 3 ingredients with the addition of one instant coffee packet which in hindsight is too overpowering and i tried to compensate with 2 more rounded TBL of cocoa. i had everything ready before i began including the buttered pot and baking pan. once the mixture came to a boil over medium on my gas range in 2 minutes of heating i lost all order and continued with the soft ball testing 30 seconds or so. after 9 failed tests i took a fresh spoon and tasted the texture which instantly reminded me of the "velvety smooth" texture i had read in reviews. i took a moment to ponder whether it was done and decided to take it off the heat. after a minute or so i added the cut up butter and vanilla. stirring once it had cooled to the mid 100s took about 7 minutes. it was very evident the fudge was starting to thicken about half way through. from what i can tell it is smooth and yummy! fyi i used 2% milk and it was a rainy day. the fudge is perhaps slightly too sweet and i may adjust that next time but first i will let the taste-testers try it. i will definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made this and got impatient and poured it into the pan before it had totally reached soft ball stage and it didn't set. After much debate I put it all back in the saucepan the next day and reboiled it and this time didn't cut corners and it actually worked and set correctly the second time around. I made it for my grandparents and boyfriend and they raved it was the best fudge they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States