Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have finally found the lost recipe which was lost from being passed down from my Grand Mother to my mother and then to me. The only difference is that our old recipe called for brown sugar too. So I substituted 1/2 of white with brown. Turned out well. I also recommend NOT to stir it after the initial mix together. I kept a few clean dry spoons on the side to periodically test for the "soft ball" stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you, this is the same recipe my mother used. I can also remember when she would try to make it on rainy days, it never would harden for her and we would eat it with a spoon. this is by far the best fudge ever. you can also add peanut butter to this but it will harden it almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! It's so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Just like my grandmother used to make. So velvety smooth, and what fudge should taste like. Nothing like the quick marshmallow fluff stuff that most people today try to pass off as fudge. People, real old fashioned fudge does take time, and yes…it does take a bit of actual physical labor. This is not a “pop it in the microwave and it’s done” type of candy, so don’t even bother (and please don't rate it) if you won’t take the time or won’t follow the directions, because chances are you will end up with a grainy brick. In saying that, this recipe is simple enough that even first time fudge makers can make it turn out perfect…if they just take their time, and they follow the directions. This is 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
5 stars for the taste...it's wonderful. First time I made it, I didn't cook it quite long enough and after beating it to death, I ended up keeping it in the fridge and we ate it with a spoon. Tonight I made it for the second time [with a candy therm. this time] and I followed the instructions...and about 20 secs into beating it, it was not even spreadable...now it's dry and crumbly... :-( Maybe the third time will be the charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I finally found a fudge recipe like my moms that I can actually make! I wish there was a set stirring time though. I think I over stirred just a bit. It turned out a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A great, authentic fudge. Despite what some reviewers have said, I found it really pretty easy and straightforward, and the outcome was perfect. A little bit time consuming but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is my mother's fudge recipe. I have been looking for it for a while now. Follow the tips in other reviews for terrific results. You will not go back to the marshmallow/chocolate chip stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just have a question; what percent milk is best to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paonia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Merry Christmas everyone. Just made this fudge and it was outstanding. THANK you for all the extra hints...... My gram used to make this and my mom.. I used to start the beating hahaha but never finished .. Gram and mom would.. I DID it all today.. They would be pleased.. Great recipe and love the simplistic of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States