Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made this and got impatient and poured it into the pan before it had totally reached soft ball stage and it didn't set. After much debate I put it all back in the saucepan the next day and reboiled it and this time didn't cut corners and it actually worked and set correctly the second time around. I made it for my grandparents and boyfriend and they raved it was the best fudge they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are good but they are a challenge to make. Always hard. Will try to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is the way I made fudge many, many years ago. It is truely an old-fashioned recipe. This is how my dad showed me how to make fudge when I was just a little scrapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cliffnorthupjr

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this fudge EXACTLY as written and it didn't thicken. I know something must have gone very wrong, but I don't know what. I used a candy thermometer to make sure the temps were right but to no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have finally found the lost recipe which was lost from being passed down from my Grand Mother to my mother and then to me. The only difference is that our old recipe called for brown sugar too. So I substituted 1/2 of white with brown. Turned out well. I also recommend NOT to stir it after the initial mix together. I kept a few clean dry spoons on the side to periodically test for the "soft ball" stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you, this is the same recipe my mother used. I can also remember when she would try to make it on rainy days, it never would harden for her and we would eat it with a spoon. this is by far the best fudge ever. you can also add peanut butter to this but it will harden it almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! It's so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Just like my grandmother used to make. So velvety smooth, and what fudge should taste like. Nothing like the quick marshmallow fluff stuff that most people today try to pass off as fudge. People, real old fashioned fudge does take time, and yes…it does take a bit of actual physical labor. This is not a “pop it in the microwave and it’s done” type of candy, so don’t even bother (and please don't rate it) if you won’t take the time or won’t follow the directions, because chances are you will end up with a grainy brick. In saying that, this recipe is simple enough that even first time fudge makers can make it turn out perfect…if they just take their time, and they follow the directions. This is 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
5 stars for the taste...it's wonderful. First time I made it, I didn't cook it quite long enough and after beating it to death, I ended up keeping it in the fridge and we ate it with a spoon. Tonight I made it for the second time [with a candy therm. this time] and I followed the instructions...and about 20 secs into beating it, it was not even spreadable...now it's dry and crumbly... :-( Maybe the third time will be the charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I finally found a fudge recipe like my moms that I can actually make! I wish there was a set stirring time though. I think I over stirred just a bit. It turned out a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States