Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
As they say, 3rd time is a charm. My very first time making fudge ever and I chose this recipe because of the baking cocoa and because the recipe makes it seem easy. Well, I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars because it is not that easy. After 2 fails resulting in goo and reading the reviews with the stirring tips I got it right!!! It has not yet fully cooled but the texture is good as well as the firmness, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
WAY TOO MUCH COCOA in our humble option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Follow the instructions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I never write reviews, ever, but after waking to a boyfriend begging for fudge, I was dreading the complicated task. Despite all the reviews,this way really easy to make. As long as you're able to accurately read a thermometer you can successfully make this recipe. I do suggest using an electric mixer, it makes the task a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good fudge...just like I used to make as a kid, for my kids and now my grandkids. Fudge making takes patience but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great tasting, but very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It only took me 7 tries to get success here. I've learned a lot. First, make sure your pan is deep enough so it doesn't boil over (try 1). Second, calibrate your thermometer in boiling water (tries 2 and 3, I bought a new one when I realized the old one's tube freely moved along the measurements). Third, check for soft ball, as mine goes at 234F. And finally, let it cool until 110F before beating the sheen off. My successful 7th try also included a pinch of cream of tartar (to turn some sugar into glucose and keep it from turning into a rock) and 1/4t of salt, based on other fudge information out there. But I think leaving it to 110F to beat made the difference. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This fudge is just like the kind my mom used to make. Great recipe! And I now know why my mom had such nice arms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDEN1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I DID IT!!!!!! This was possibly the most effort I have ever put into any food. My arms feel like noodles but I did it! During the stirring like mad process I ended up sitting on the floor with the pot between my legs cursing every man in the olden days who thought women were useless. LOL it was a lot of work but it is an amazing recipe and completely rewarding :) TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
turned out great!! My family literally will not let me eat any...guess I need to make more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States