Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm an idiot, so don't do what I did, and don't let my mistake stop you from trying this fantastic recipe. It really is delicious! I made it with fresh goat milk, which is excellent in fudge. My mistake, after doing everything else so carefully, was to pour the hot fudge into my stand mixer bowl for beating, turn it on and forget about it until I had overbeaten fudge shards flying around my kitchen. (You can use a stand mixer for this, but you have to pay attention and stop the mixer right when the fudge loses its shine. Don't go do something else like I did!) In spite of my mistake, the flavor was great, and I'm saving the shards to use as a topping for cakes, ice cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I finally go this recipe right. IT IS AMAZING!!!! It does take a lot of work, patience, and listening to what others have advised, if you are a first time fudge maker. I am a first time fudge maker. I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 inch pan of it. I totally thought I messed this recipe up because it would not set and solidify. So I followed another reviewers advice, I stuck it back in a pot nuts added and all and boiled it again. I then pulled it off the stove when my candy thermometer reaches 240 degree (F). I waited until it cooled again to 110 degrees (F). I put it in my kitchen aid blender with the flat blending attachment and set it at 4 speed. It took about 30 minutes until it got very thick like it would almost set in the mixer bowl. Then I poured it in the pan. Another 10 minutes to let it set for sure and I had excellent fudge. Everyone absolutely love it. This has been a rewarding experience. GREAT FUDGE sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This fudge is AWESOME. I think I messed up a little because mine came out pretty dry, but it melted in my mouth and tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again, it is so much better than the marshmallow and chocolate chip fudge that I tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My mom and grandma used to make this fudge. They always added about 1/2 cup peanut butter along with the butter and vanilla. Absolutely decadent.One of my favorite childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My friend and I tried this recipe and we did everything wrong that could be done wrong, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Brilliant recipe, havn't yet mastered it without Mums supervision! lol I'm following all the advice btu things always seem to go wrong probably due to my temperemantal stove :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Since failing with a different recipe, I was on a mission to make fudge.I buttered my glass pan and went to work at 5am. It's now 755am and my perfect fudge is cooling. I used 3 cups of sugar, 1 cup milk, 2/3 cup cocoa. 6 Tb salted butter, 1 1/2 Tb vanilla and a 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Cooked for 20 mins on medium. A little sweet but good. Next time I will wake up & have coffee first & use the amount of sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Perfect chocolate fudge! Received rave reviews with friends, family, and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Best fudge ever!!! Second time I made it, it didn't set so I put it back in the pot, and brought it back to the boil and got it back to the soft ball stage(boiled for 5 mins) then beat with an electric beater. it thickened and has set!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My wife and kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States