Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the fudge recipe I grew up with in the 50's...love it! What memories I have of my sister and I making this fudge, and how wonderful it was! If it didn't set up or harden, not a problem, we just ate it like it was! Truly fond memories of those experiences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This fudge turned out amazingly! As always, I had a heart attack waiting for it to come to temp, took about 25 mins, but my candy thermometer is an old friend, and trusting it got the fudge perfect. Once it hit soft-ball stage, I dropped the butter in pieces, and let it sit until melted, the stirred it for about 10 mins, it was still a bit glossy, but was firming up well. Put it in a pan lined with parchment paper (so it can be lifted right out of the pan, and cut easily), turned out great. Kudo's to the reviewer who suggested making hot chocolate with the mixture that stuck to the pan, that was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It taste pretty good, but It was a bit grainy and didn't ever quite harden as much as a typical fudge will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This fudge is easy to make and very delicious. Brings you back to a child in the kitchen with Granny. Stir, stir stir!! It hardens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Not bad! I found the ratio of sugar to cocoa to be a tad too sweet, so I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Doubling almost everything (1 cup cocoa, 2 cups milk, 3 cups sugar, but 5 tbsp. butter) makes a nice thick batch in an 8x8 pan. Warning: This modification is only for those who take their chocolate seriously! Like some others, it took me a few tries to get this right. My fudge kept overcooking, so I did the soft ball test in conjunction with a candy thermometer, and found that mine is usually done at around 232 degrees (I'm 750 feet above sea level). I also learned that it's important to use a good quality pot - otherwise, it heats unevenly and parts get burned to the bottom. Overall, this is a delicious recipe - much better than the stuff at the grocery store! Super cheap, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
So yummy. I made this three days ago and it has not crystallized yet, I wiped down the sides with wet paper towel and I did not stir after it came to boil and until it had cooled down to 140°F. It has strong chocolate flavor but that is a part of how delicious it is. I'm making a new batch tomorrow because this one disappeared too quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm an idiot, so don't do what I did, and don't let my mistake stop you from trying this fantastic recipe. It really is delicious! I made it with fresh goat milk, which is excellent in fudge. My mistake, after doing everything else so carefully, was to pour the hot fudge into my stand mixer bowl for beating, turn it on and forget about it until I had overbeaten fudge shards flying around my kitchen. (You can use a stand mixer for this, but you have to pay attention and stop the mixer right when the fudge loses its shine. Don't go do something else like I did!) In spite of my mistake, the flavor was great, and I'm saving the shards to use as a topping for cakes, ice cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I finally go this recipe right. IT IS AMAZING!!!! It does take a lot of work, patience, and listening to what others have advised, if you are a first time fudge maker. I am a first time fudge maker. I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 inch pan of it. I totally thought I messed this recipe up because it would not set and solidify. So I followed another reviewers advice, I stuck it back in a pot nuts added and all and boiled it again. I then pulled it off the stove when my candy thermometer reaches 240 degree (F). I waited until it cooled again to 110 degrees (F). I put it in my kitchen aid blender with the flat blending attachment and set it at 4 speed. It took about 30 minutes until it got very thick like it would almost set in the mixer bowl. Then I poured it in the pan. Another 10 minutes to let it set for sure and I had excellent fudge. Everyone absolutely love it. This has been a rewarding experience. GREAT FUDGE sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This fudge is AWESOME. I think I messed up a little because mine came out pretty dry, but it melted in my mouth and tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again, it is so much better than the marshmallow and chocolate chip fudge that I tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My mom and grandma used to make this fudge. They always added about 1/2 cup peanut butter along with the butter and vanilla. Absolutely decadent.One of my favorite childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States