Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good - I didn't make it best the first time but it tasted so good. So I will make again. Not sure what went wrong - when I took them to a friends they seemed melted. At my place they stayed solid - so maybe it was too warm at the friends?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
this recipe i have used since i was young and it came from my Grandmother she taught my mom and mom taught me but one thing i have not read on here is that when you are making this Fudge is it wont make when it is cloudy or rainy i have tried to make it at any time and if it isnt dry it wont set up no matter what i have done but it is the best Fudge you can ever eat. I dont know where my Grandmother got the recipe but i was so glad she did i have enjoy making it and i give it out for Christmas present evey year i mix it with no bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think this fudge is the best and easiest fudge I've ever made. It is nothing like the marshmallow cream/chocolate chip fudges I've made and didn't really like. The texture and flavor are exactly what you get with the expensive fudges from the shops. It took 10 minutes to make, an hour to cool, and voila, designer fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I just want to mention that although you shouldn't underbeat, you can definitely overbeat this fudge. Some recipes say to beat for 15-20 minutes...NO. This will result is waaay too crumbly fudge. This is a crumbly fudge to begin with, since it's a candy, but if you beat it for too long, it will crack and crumble when cutting through it. I only beat for about 4 minutes (until the butter is nicely incorporated), and have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the recipe I grew up on. It was always a special treat when my mom would make this and we waited around the kitchen to taste the "tester ball". I am shocked I came across this. I see all the comments about it being hard and crystallization of the sugar. I was making this recipe before I could cook. A candy thermometer is a must, unless you are a pro like mom or sister. I have found rainy days or high humidity will mess it up. I'm sure there is a scscientific reason for this. But it is so worth the trouble. In fact my kids beg for this stuff. It is great with walnuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just made this recipe... have never made fudge like this before, and did not have a candy thermometer, but it turned out great! Just used the soft ball test (maybe tried 4 times before it stuck together in a ball instead of dissolving into the water). Let it cool about 10-15 minutes and then beat with a wooden spoon for about 8 minutes and it lost its sheen and set! Spread it into the pan...had to do this quickly before it hardened up (which happened very rapidly). Hoping it will taste as great as all the reviews claim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is very close to the one I grew up with... by far the best.. melting chocolate chips is not the way to go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this recipe tonight, and I admit that I did it twice. Failed the first time, because I took it off the heat a little bit premature...I was convinced my candy thermometer was broken. Second time, the recipe came out perfect. It is delicious, and was very easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I lost my recipe, so glad I found it. I used to make it a lot it would be creamy as butter. I cooked the butter with everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My Mom has been making it for 50 years, and as far as I'm concerned, no other fudge comes close. Our freezer is full of Christmas cookies right now, and I have no problem resisting any of them. But I'm afraid my Mom is gonna kill me when she finds out her fudge is almost gone...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States