Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this last night and let me say OMG !! It just melts in your mouth . It took me almost an hour of cooking it I don't have a candy thermometer It says to not stir but I stired it the whole time but I used a wire whisk to stir. It does not make very much .I got a thin layer of an 8 x8 square pan . I WILL be making this again and hope it will turn out as good as this batch !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is strictly old fashioned fudge and the best! The only way I make it. Only thing I will change is, spray your cooking pot with Pam as it prevents "sugaring!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this is the same recipe my mom used to make (I am 55) hands down the best fudge recipe . cooking with sugar is tough . a couple hints , once you have mixed the cocoa, sugar and milk thoroughly set the timer on your stove to 22 min, set the temp on the dial to about 8.5 out of ten , stir constantly. Once it boils set the temp down to 4. I lift the pot just off the burner for about 2 min to let the heat relax a bit . then set it down, leave it be do not touch it or stir it. start testing for the soft ball stage when there is about 2 min left on the timer. Have a clear glass of cold water , use a clean spoon dip it in a let 1 drop of liquid fudge drip in , when it hits the bottom of the glass it should be a firm little ball with a tail. if it lands and splashed down flat it is too early. by about 1 minute. if you reach in and grab the little ball from the glass it should squeeze flat very easily but stay together , that is the soft ball state.Remove from the heat and drop in the butter and vanilla, beat constantly for about 10 minutes , until it is getting dull, really what is happening is it is cooling at the same time , once it is dull it should still be liquid enough to pour into the pan like a thick pancake batter. Let it cool on a counter before you refrigerate it . Hope that provides some of the instruction that is always missing from recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great! Traditional fudge. Substituted unsweetened almond milk and it turned out perfect. Electric stove simmer setting would never have reached 238, so upped it a bit and waited. Took some time, but totally worth it. Makes for a nice gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have never tried fudge, as it's not popular where I live. I have never made it as well. So after I had bough a candy thermometer I decided to give it a try. No stirring and no shaking during simmering. Waited it to cool till 140 F (had no patience to wait further). Then mixed in butter, vanilla and shredded coconut. After beating this vigorously I spooned it out in the pan generously sprinkled with more shredded coconut and then put it in the fridge only for an 1 hour! (yes, I'm too impatient). And it seems to me I made everything right, as it was so easy to slice and not chewy/grainy at all (and with a beautiful coconut bottom). Anyway I give it only 4 stars, as IMO it's OVER-SWEET. After eating a few squares I've got a toothache. I'm sure it's necessary to cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Wasnt difficult, cooked the butter with it, only added vanilla at the end. Doubled the mixture, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe ,best fudge I have ever made .easy peasy to make but stick to recipe and use sugar themomater! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Just like Gramma used to make!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is what I've been searching for!! I'm so pleased to have found it. This is, without a doubt, the best fudge I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cbouvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I just made this, following the exact recipe and I am so impressed. This was my first time ever making fudge and it turned out fantastic. It has the minimalist of graininess, which was amazing as I messed up twice. (I misunderstood the starting directions and didn't stir it till it started to boil, and wasn't able to remove all of the crystallized pan edges). I'm very happy with the results and can't wait to master this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States