Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe because it seemed easy, but I obviously screwed it up. I must not have beaten it long enough? After cooking, beating, etc., I put it in the pan, put in the fridge and went out for a few hours. After returning, it was still not set. However, it is a really delicious sauce! I'm going to try this again, I must not have cooked it long enough either, even though my thermometer was reading around 238 degrees when I removed from the heat. It is raining today, I don't know if that is a factor. But I am determined, and I'm going to give this another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is the recipe my Grandfather made, passed it down to my Mom who taught me. You have to make sure it gets to the "soft ball" stage otherwise it does become sugary (238F). When you beat it by hand with a wooden spoon, put the pot in cold water in the sink, this helps to cool it down and as it starts to harden on the sides, it is ready to put into the pan. It should set immediately. Then pour milk into the pot so as not to waste any chocolate and have a wonderful mug of hot chocolate with a piece of fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Does anyone know approximately how long to beat the fudge for? Because mine just doesn't seem to be setting! and also is beating with an electric beater an option or does it have to be by hand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good - I didn't make it best the first time but it tasted so good. So I will make again. Not sure what went wrong - when I took them to a friends they seemed melted. At my place they stayed solid - so maybe it was too warm at the friends?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
this recipe i have used since i was young and it came from my Grandmother she taught my mom and mom taught me but one thing i have not read on here is that when you are making this Fudge is it wont make when it is cloudy or rainy i have tried to make it at any time and if it isnt dry it wont set up no matter what i have done but it is the best Fudge you can ever eat. I dont know where my Grandmother got the recipe but i was so glad she did i have enjoy making it and i give it out for Christmas present evey year i mix it with no bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think this fudge is the best and easiest fudge I've ever made. It is nothing like the marshmallow cream/chocolate chip fudges I've made and didn't really like. The texture and flavor are exactly what you get with the expensive fudges from the shops. It took 10 minutes to make, an hour to cool, and voila, designer fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I just want to mention that although you shouldn't underbeat, you can definitely overbeat this fudge. Some recipes say to beat for 15-20 minutes...NO. This will result is waaay too crumbly fudge. This is a crumbly fudge to begin with, since it's a candy, but if you beat it for too long, it will crack and crumble when cutting through it. I only beat for about 4 minutes (until the butter is nicely incorporated), and have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the recipe I grew up on. It was always a special treat when my mom would make this and we waited around the kitchen to taste the "tester ball". I am shocked I came across this. I see all the comments about it being hard and crystallization of the sugar. I was making this recipe before I could cook. A candy thermometer is a must, unless you are a pro like mom or sister. I have found rainy days or high humidity will mess it up. I'm sure there is a scscientific reason for this. But it is so worth the trouble. In fact my kids beg for this stuff. It is great with walnuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just made this recipe... have never made fudge like this before, and did not have a candy thermometer, but it turned out great! Just used the soft ball test (maybe tried 4 times before it stuck together in a ball instead of dissolving into the water). Let it cool about 10-15 minutes and then beat with a wooden spoon for about 8 minutes and it lost its sheen and set! Spread it into the pan...had to do this quickly before it hardened up (which happened very rapidly). Hoping it will taste as great as all the reviews claim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is very close to the one I grew up with... by far the best.. melting chocolate chips is not the way to go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States