Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent, easy cake. I didn't use the frosting portion (served it with vanilla ice cream). In the cake I used half brown sugar for a bit more flavor, and the cinammon is a great addition. Overall a slightly lighter chocolate taste due to the use of cocoa, but stays moist and delicious for days. This is going in the permanent recipe file! I have also made cupcakes with this recipe--use the foil cups, put them on a baking sheet (no muffin tins), fill 1/2 - 3/4 full, and bake at 350 for approximately 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Frost with whatever frosting you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Absolutely the best chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
The cake was very moist and delicious, but I think the frosting calls for far to much confectioners sugar. I added coconut shavings and cinnamon to the frosting, it went over well in m house. My boyfriend thought it was delicious and woke me up at 3am just to tell me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
The recipe was true to its word. The icing was work but in the end it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Oh my!!! This was so good! Moist and chocolaty! The frosting tasted like a layer of chocolate fudge! Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
this was good. i put 3 cups of sugar in the frosting and it came out too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I left out the cinnamon, as recommended by others, and used regular milk in place of the buttermilk. I also had to half this recipe because I only had one egg. No big deal, the recipe turned out way better than I had expected. It was very moist and tasted great! I also threw in a handful of the mini chocolate chips for some extra chocolatey flavor. I didn't make the icing, because my family prefers cakes without icing. Awesome cake! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
the cake turned out pretty good. Next time I make it, I will put less cinnamon in and more chocolate since you really could not taste much chocolate. Instead of buttermilk, I used regular milk even though I doubted it would turn out well. After all, it actually turned out good. It was a little too crumby, but the taste was great and the cake was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I have to say this is the ONLY chocolate cake recipe I will ever need. I don't like chocolate cake but this is AWESOME. This is what I did, and I suggest you all do the same. I made the cake per instructions, except I omitted the cinnamon. I did not make the icing because I was looking for a basic chocolate cake recipe from scratch in order to make Better Than Sex Chocolate Cake II from this site. My advice is to combine these recipes. The Better Than Sex Chocolate Cake II asks to use a box of the devil's food cake mix but I'm a cake snob and will only make it from scratch. Follow the directions and you will have a truly AWESOME cake that, I have to admit, really did turn out better than sex. (You can read my review for that one as well). Refrigerate it first and it will be a hit and I believe everyone will absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This really was the best. I was looking for a good, fast, inexpensive cake to make for my husband's birthday and found this recipe. To say that it was a hit is an understatement. Even my I-don't-like-anything-chocolate father and brother liked it! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States