Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
After reading other reviews I tripled the chocolate, and the cake was still not very chocolate-y. The texture was absolutely terrible, it was as dense as a brownie. I baked the cake in layer pans... big mistake... this is not a layer cake. I was disappointed in the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
i made this yesterday as we were having people over and i made them as cupcakes. everyone loved them and there is none left now! and asked for the recipe! i will definitly make this again..maybe tomorow!thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This needed to bake for almost DOUBLE the amount of time listed. Edges were done, while the middle was still soup when I inserted the toothpick after 30 minutes. I added chocolate chips, which all fell to the bottom of the pan. I did not make the icing, I chose to use my own. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Made this at the last minute for my brother's birthday, and it got rave reviews. Turned out wonderful. Everyone should try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This cake was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Delicious. After reading reviews that the cake may not be chocolate-y enough, I added an additional tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake mix and the frosting. Both came out very tasty, but I think the recipe exactly as it was published would have been just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was okay however my husband didn't think it tasted like choc. but more like gingerbread. The frosting was way too sweet! I don't think I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Excellent chocolate cake, I've been looking for a good recipe like this for a LOOOONG time. I didn't change anything about it. I made it the first time with the icing as suggested, it was great, but I found the icing a bit too heavy and the cake on its own without the icing speaks for itself. I've made it about 5 times, and have taken it to parties, and everyone gets at least 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Best cake ever! I omitted the pecans from the icing, because I didn't have any at the time, and I omitted the cinnamon. I also added a tsp. of baking powder, it gives the cake a little more lift. I'll never buy another box cake again, this one is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
The frosting on this cake is amazing. I really, really like it. Like some other reviewers mentioned, the cake part is good, almost just ok. But the frosting really makes the cake (ha ha). So five stars for the frosting, 3 for the cake.... an average of 4 stars. I think I will use this frosting recipe for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States