Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Totally loved this cake. If you are craving chocolate cake this is definitely the recipe for you. YUM!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Strange. Not bad, but a different kind of cake. The batter looked bubbly, even when finished baking. The cake was moist and had good flavor, but a different texture than we are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The texture of the cake is nice although I wish the buttermilk taste came through a bit better. also the cinnamon did not work for me all (I like cinnamon very much just not in chocolate cake as I have discovered now). must leave the cinnamon out the next time if I want to not ruin the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! Great Cake! I had to bake it longer than suggested. In Texas, we call this a Mexican Chocolate Cake. I skipped the suggested topping, and used chocolate cream cheese frosting (recipe from this sight), and it was dreamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txrebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I've tried this recipe twice so far with excellent results--the first time, I omitted the cinnamon and used walnuts in the frosting instead of pecans. My family loved it! The second time, I included the cinnamon with mixed results. It's really great without the cinnamon, and the pecans are really optional, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Rated a 5. Very good & tasty. I had no buttermilk so what I did was take milk & add a bit of vinegar. This is a saver for my binder. Thank you Dodi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
love it so much! made it for my beau and he loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrummpy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
So many of the reviews were by cooks who had changed the recipe - I didn't know what to expect. But I didn't change anything and this is a great cake. Texture is super - moist and slightly dense. Frosting - fudgy; it started to harden in the pan when I took it off the heat so I put it on the HOT (not warm) cake and I'd do that again. My only other "directions" tip would be to sift the dry ingredients REALLY well - after mixing the batter I still had flour lumps and had to hand-squeeze them. You can definitely taste the cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was AWESOME. Really hit the spot. I didn't put in the cinnamin or the pecans, it was just a delicious chocolate cake. I didn't get the icing put on while the cake was hot but the next morning I poked holes into the cake and poured the warm icing over it and it was great!!!! Will definiately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cardamommy
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious cake and very easy to prepare! My family love it and just can't get enough! The only difficulty I've had is getting it out of the pan in one piece as it is so moist that it tends to stick in a couple of places even when the pan is liberally greased and floured. I'm thinking I'll try lining the pan with greaseproof paper next time and see if that works better. I've baked this a few times but most recently for my son's birthday party last weekend where it was a big hit. I omitted the cocoa and pecans from the icing for a slight variation in colour and flavours and it worked equally well. One of my son's friends enjoyed the cake so much he has requested the recipe so his own mum can make it for him! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardamommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Inverness, Inverness-Shire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States