Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Fabulous, A Great dark chocolate cake. Very moist. This will now be the chocolate cake recipe for me to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
OH MY! Just divine! I brought this to a dinner party and it was a hit! Next time I'm going to make the frosting with just a tad less sugar. I'd like to get more of a melting affect. Thanks so much! The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This cake is awesome. Next time I think I'll use 9 inch pans. The icing is thick enough to support a three layer cake. The recipe was also very precise. No guessing required. Make sure to turn cake out of pan before icing. Great recipe and divine cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I left out the cinnamon, as recommended by others, and used regular milk in place of the buttermilk. I also had to half this recipe because I only had one egg. No big deal, the recipe turned out way better than I had expected. It was very moist and tasted great! I also threw in a handful of the mini chocolate chips for some extra chocolatey flavor. I didn't make the icing, because my family prefers cakes without icing. Awesome cake! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
this was good. i put 3 cups of sugar in the frosting and it came out too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Oh my!!! This was so good! Moist and chocolaty! The frosting tasted like a layer of chocolate fudge! Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
The recipe was true to its word. The icing was work but in the end it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Absolutely the best chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent, easy cake. I didn't use the frosting portion (served it with vanilla ice cream). In the cake I used half brown sugar for a bit more flavor, and the cinammon is a great addition. Overall a slightly lighter chocolate taste due to the use of cocoa, but stays moist and delicious for days. This is going in the permanent recipe file! I have also made cupcakes with this recipe--use the foil cups, put them on a baking sheet (no muffin tins), fill 1/2 - 3/4 full, and bake at 350 for approximately 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Frost with whatever frosting you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This really was an amazing cake to make! I just started cooking and I also found it easy. At first I thought maybe I shouldn't use salted butter, and that the batter seemed too thin but everything worked out perfectly. The frosting, was delicious and I found myself eating while making it. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was gone that same day! Everyone asked for the recipie and asked me when I learned to cook! I added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States