Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
The frosting on this cake is amazing. I really, really like it. Like some other reviewers mentioned, the cake part is good, almost just ok. But the frosting really makes the cake (ha ha). So five stars for the frosting, 3 for the cake.... an average of 4 stars. I think I will use this frosting recipe for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a cake that I have made many times under various names, such as Mexican Chocolate Cake or Texas Sheet Cake, and most are made in an 11 X 15 pan. However I had not seen one with the buttermilk in the icing. I halved the recipe for our family of 3 and baked it in an 11 X 7 pan. The cake itself is a moist cake, and the cinnamon is just enough to perk up the chocolate; but it is the icing that makes the cake. I love the addition of buttermilk--it gives the chocolate a real depth and just adds to the richness. I did not have buttermilk so mixed a little cidar vinegar in some half & half, and it worked just fine. I also used toasted walnuts, because I can't find good fresh pecans right now. To reviewer SUSIEQ2005, my Mom says it's the best chocolate cake she's ever had too! Although I would give the cake itself a 3, the icing is a 5. However my husband and Mom rate it a 5, so that is what I'm giving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This cake is delicious! My mom keeps telling me it's the best cake she's ever had. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
this came out a little fudgy for me which was commented on and raved about by all my friends. i skipped the cinnamon, used cream instead of buttermilk and used a different frosting though I am sure the pecans would have been delish. i think i want to have a few different awesome choco cake recipes and i will rename this one Fudgy to remind me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EGGIWEG
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow. "The best thing ever," according to one of my guests. The cake is very moist and good, but the icing is truly amazing! I put the extra icing in the fridge... I'm eating it with a spoon. I will definitely be making this again. Small changes I made: added 1 extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake and the icing, and I added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips to the cake (because, really, the more chocolate, the better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband made this cake for my birthday. Unfortunately I accidentally reversed the amounts of water and buttermilk while giving him the instructions; nevertheless the cake turned out great, with a fine, tender crumb. I did get my husband to make two other changes: we used coffee instead of cinnamon and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
WOW!!! This turned out GREAT! I live at 5K feet, so usually cakes flop and turn out so gross, but I made this just the way the recipe says. I omitted the cinnamon, used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and substituted a "yogurt spread" for the butter. And baked in two 9" rounds for 28 minutes. Turned out GREAT! I added a bit more cocoa powder and it tastes great! I didn't use the frosting, sicne this is for the child I babysit, and his mom is going to decorate the cake for his birthday. Thank you! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
what is the definition of cake? I was expecting a sponge. My cake came out flat with cracks all over it. There was way too much frosting for my flat cake, but as I poured it onto my cake it filled the cracks, now here is the twist everyone loved it and it was described a self saucing chocolate pudding as I warmed it up before serving with ice cream. Whilst I was dsappointed the rest of my family and guests want me too make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this recipe (cake only) with Splenda granular instead of sugar (and, as the Splenda site suggests for all cakes with Splenda, added 1/2 C of nonfat dry milk powder and 1/2 t baking soda for each C of Splenda used). This is the first chocolate cake that I have tried with Splenda that turned out well. If you substitute Splenda, reduce the cooking time by quite a bit and keep a check on it - Splenda cakes cook much faster than sugar cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My family ate this cake for thanksgiving. It was a matter of a hour that it had been ate. I added sour cream about half cup to the icying. I like the taste better. Other than adding sour cream to the icying it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States