Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is a great old fashioned chocolate cake! There are many chocolate cakes on this site with the exact same ingredients or very, very similar. I followed this one exactly except I used my own chocolate mousse recipe instead of the icing called for. I also used 4 Heaping Tablespoons of cocoa powder! It was moist, rich, and chocolately! I used 2 round cake pans to make a layer cake, and it cooked in 25 minutes. I made this for my daughters birthday and topped it with the chocolate mousse and strawberries! My son already asked for this same cake on his b-day! This is so easy and simple to make, no need to ever buy a box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Easy to make without the artificial stuff in cake mix. Family loved it. I did add 1/2 cup of sour cream for a little more moisture. Think it would have been fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
So yummy! I make the cake but use chocolate coffee buttercream icing. It makes it taste really nice! I don't know why anyone could not like it unless THEY completely botched the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
wonderful cake! easy and tastes amazing! love the cinnamon in it--everyone wants it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I signed up just to comment on this recipe. It has become a family go-to recipe. I love, love that you don't have to get out the mixer and that the frosting is pour-over, because I hate frosting cakes. Also, bonus points for not having to soften butter (it gets melted). People RAVE about this every.single.time. It's definitely a splurge, calorie wise, but soooo yummy and moist. I've made this so many times I feel confident that the low rating testers must have flubbed/left out something. I never use the pecans and last time I made it I didn't have any buttermilk (or vinegar to make buttermilk sub) so I used regular and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for my son's birthday and it is AMAZING!!! I didn't have butter milk so I used leftever whipping cream but I am sure regular milk would work also. It is SO moist!! My baking time was 35 minutes, not 30 but each oven is unique so just make sure you use a toothpick to check doneness! I didn't make the frosting as I had leftover buttercream frosting from the holidays. Next time I will try that recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Perfect cake! No alterations needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I am not an expert at baking, and this recipe was easy to do. However, I did modify the amount of sugar the recipe required. Instead of using two cups of white sugar for the batter, I used 1.5, and for the icing I used 225 ml (a bit less than 1 cup). I'd suggest to add a little bit of sugar at a time to the icing and to taste it before adding more. You might not need all four cups of sugar as indicated, but you might prefer more than 225 ml.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
We LOVE this cake! So moist, simple...it is so good to find a good replacement for cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Super amazing, my kids loved it. It tasted like I bought it from a high end bakery. I'll be making it for every occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States