Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I signed up just to comment on this recipe. It has become a family go-to recipe. I love, love that you don't have to get out the mixer and that the frosting is pour-over, because I hate frosting cakes. Also, bonus points for not having to soften butter (it gets melted). People RAVE about this every.single.time. It's definitely a splurge, calorie wise, but soooo yummy and moist. I've made this so many times I feel confident that the low rating testers must have flubbed/left out something. I never use the pecans and last time I made it I didn't have any buttermilk (or vinegar to make buttermilk sub) so I used regular and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for my son's birthday and it is AMAZING!!! I didn't have butter milk so I used leftever whipping cream but I am sure regular milk would work also. It is SO moist!! My baking time was 35 minutes, not 30 but each oven is unique so just make sure you use a toothpick to check doneness! I didn't make the frosting as I had leftover buttercream frosting from the holidays. Next time I will try that recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisfamily503

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Perfect cake! No alterations needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I am not an expert at baking, and this recipe was easy to do. However, I did modify the amount of sugar the recipe required. Instead of using two cups of white sugar for the batter, I used 1.5, and for the icing I used 225 ml (a bit less than 1 cup). I'd suggest to add a little bit of sugar at a time to the icing and to taste it before adding more. You might not need all four cups of sugar as indicated, but you might prefer more than 225 ml.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
We LOVE this cake! So moist, simple...it is so good to find a good replacement for cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Super amazing, my kids loved it. It tasted like I bought it from a high end bakery. I'll be making it for every occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I gave it 4 stars because I did not like the cinnamon in the cake. The cake itself is wonderful. I have used this recipe many times with various frostings and plain. I believe it is moist and no problem baking up. I dont know why the bad luck with the cake mishaps but have to say it is not the recipe. Its the same recipe in the Pastry Queen's Tuxedo cake it just does not have the cinnamon and she doubles the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I used this cake mix and a different frosting on this website, it is delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I made one small cake and 12 cupcakes from this recipe. Cup/Cake did turn out dense, even though I followed others' suggestions for the baking powder to flour ratio. We tried the cupcakes without frosting at first, and it was good, but just dense, and sort of dry. I made a frosting, 3/4 stick butter to enough powdered sugar, until the thickness was what I wanted. And that made the cup/cake much better. The cinnamon was AMAZING. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have made hundreds of cakes of the years. It took almost an hour to cook and even when it was cooked it was far too soggy to use as the birthday cake I had planned it for. It tasted okay (a bit bland though) but I smothered it with home made mousse and chocolate ganache and it was ok for a pudding but I had to make a different birthday cake for the occasion. Shame, as I was looking forward to trying it as I like to try out american cake recipes (i'm welsh) as I like the moistness of them as a rule but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyj40

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States