Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This cake is delicious! My mom keeps telling me it's the best cake she's ever had. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
this came out a little fudgy for me which was commented on and raved about by all my friends. i skipped the cinnamon, used cream instead of buttermilk and used a different frosting though I am sure the pecans would have been delish. i think i want to have a few different awesome choco cake recipes and i will rename this one Fudgy to remind me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EGGIWEG
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow. "The best thing ever," according to one of my guests. The cake is very moist and good, but the icing is truly amazing! I put the extra icing in the fridge... I'm eating it with a spoon. I will definitely be making this again. Small changes I made: added 1 extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake and the icing, and I added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips to the cake (because, really, the more chocolate, the better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband made this cake for my birthday. Unfortunately I accidentally reversed the amounts of water and buttermilk while giving him the instructions; nevertheless the cake turned out great, with a fine, tender crumb. I did get my husband to make two other changes: we used coffee instead of cinnamon and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
WOW!!! This turned out GREAT! I live at 5K feet, so usually cakes flop and turn out so gross, but I made this just the way the recipe says. I omitted the cinnamon, used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and substituted a "yogurt spread" for the butter. And baked in two 9" rounds for 28 minutes. Turned out GREAT! I added a bit more cocoa powder and it tastes great! I didn't use the frosting, sicne this is for the child I babysit, and his mom is going to decorate the cake for his birthday. Thank you! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
what is the definition of cake? I was expecting a sponge. My cake came out flat with cracks all over it. There was way too much frosting for my flat cake, but as I poured it onto my cake it filled the cracks, now here is the twist everyone loved it and it was described a self saucing chocolate pudding as I warmed it up before serving with ice cream. Whilst I was dsappointed the rest of my family and guests want me too make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this recipe (cake only) with Splenda granular instead of sugar (and, as the Splenda site suggests for all cakes with Splenda, added 1/2 C of nonfat dry milk powder and 1/2 t baking soda for each C of Splenda used). This is the first chocolate cake that I have tried with Splenda that turned out well. If you substitute Splenda, reduce the cooking time by quite a bit and keep a check on it - Splenda cakes cook much faster than sugar cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My family ate this cake for thanksgiving. It was a matter of a hour that it had been ate. I added sour cream about half cup to the icying. I like the taste better. Other than adding sour cream to the icying it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Very good, extremely moist cake. I made it exactly like the recipe and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This really was an amazing cake to make! I just started cooking and I also found it easy. At first I thought maybe I shouldn't use salted butter, and that the batter seemed too thin but everything worked out perfectly. The frosting, was delicious and I found myself eating while making it. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was gone that same day! Everyone asked for the recipie and asked me when I learned to cook! I added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States