Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
What a great recipe! I was looking for a recipe for a chocolate cake that would use buttermilk since I had it in the house and I'm so glad I picked this one. It is so moist and flavorful (the cinnamon makes it). I did not make the icing and the cake works wonderfully on its own. I also baked the batter in an old-fashioned muffin tin to make individual cakes and they came out great (I baked them for the normal muffin baking time: 15-20 min). I drizzled store bought hot chocolate sauce on top since it was what I had on hand and it was a great chocolaty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
After reading other reviews I tripled the chocolate, and the cake was still not very chocolate-y. The texture was absolutely terrible, it was as dense as a brownie. I baked the cake in layer pans... big mistake... this is not a layer cake. I was disappointed in the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
i made this yesterday as we were having people over and i made them as cupcakes. everyone loved them and there is none left now! and asked for the recipe! i will definitly make this again..maybe tomorow!thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This needed to bake for almost DOUBLE the amount of time listed. Edges were done, while the middle was still soup when I inserted the toothpick after 30 minutes. I added chocolate chips, which all fell to the bottom of the pan. I did not make the icing, I chose to use my own. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Made this at the last minute for my brother's birthday, and it got rave reviews. Turned out wonderful. Everyone should try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This cake was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Delicious. After reading reviews that the cake may not be chocolate-y enough, I added an additional tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake mix and the frosting. Both came out very tasty, but I think the recipe exactly as it was published would have been just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was okay however my husband didn't think it tasted like choc. but more like gingerbread. The frosting was way too sweet! I don't think I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Excellent chocolate cake, I've been looking for a good recipe like this for a LOOOONG time. I didn't change anything about it. I made it the first time with the icing as suggested, it was great, but I found the icing a bit too heavy and the cake on its own without the icing speaks for itself. I've made it about 5 times, and have taken it to parties, and everyone gets at least 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Best cake ever! I omitted the pecans from the icing, because I didn't have any at the time, and I omitted the cinnamon. I also added a tsp. of baking powder, it gives the cake a little more lift. I'll never buy another box cake again, this one is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States