Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have made hundreds of cakes of the years. It took almost an hour to cook and even when it was cooked it was far too soggy to use as the birthday cake I had planned it for. It tasted okay (a bit bland though) but I smothered it with home made mousse and chocolate ganache and it was ok for a pudding but I had to make a different birthday cake for the occasion. Shame, as I was looking forward to trying it as I like to try out american cake recipes (i'm welsh) as I like the moistness of them as a rule but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyj40

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
In all my years of baking, this is the WORST chocolate cake I've EVER made. No one would eat it, it tasted like paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This cake is amazing, seriously. Was a breeze to put together, so simple but the flavor was awesome. I loved the cinnamon!! It had a very tender moist crumb that was light but dense at the same time. I topped mine with a chocolate cream cheese frosting that complimented the buttermilk and the chocolate in the recipe. Will make again with maybe some melted semi sweet chocolate thrown in to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doinit200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Excellent cake! Love the cinnamon! I have made this well over 10 times, and it never ceases to please. During these baking sessions I have slightly modified the recipe: Now I only use 1/2 cup of butter in the cake (I swear, you won't notice), omit the pecans (not a fan of nuts in cake), and I half the icing. I'm a sugar freak, but even I thought the icing was too much originally. I've also been using baking POWDER instead of baking SODA. I noticed in some of the lower starred reviews that their cakes came out flat & dense. This could be due to using baking powder. You have to double or triple the amount of powder to equal soda. I use 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, and the cake comes out extremely pillowy & moist. One last thing; 30 mins is not enough. 40-45 mins typically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I used this cake for birthday cakes that I had to make one weekend. The first one that I made was very good and I followed the directions exactly. The second that I made was for a marble cake, I made it exactly how it was supposed to be made but left out the cocoa until the end. I, then, took some of the batter and added cocoa to it to make the marble. Everyone loved it. The only complaint that I had was the cinnamon, everyone said it tasted more like a spice cake than chocolate or marble. So I would suggest omitting the cinnamon or use less, but overall this was a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This cake is absolutely fabulous! My family loved it. I did too because it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicious cake! and not that complicated. I didn't add the cinamon and I made cupcakes instead of one cake. With this recipe you can make 26 cupcakes in total. Fill the cups almost entirely till the rim, because the dough doesn't rise that much. You need only half of the ingredients for the icing if you're decorating cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I made it the second time tonight except I didn't use the cinnamon and I didn't make the icing because I was out of confectioners sugar. The icing was super sweet. Way too sweet. Next time I won't use as much confectioners sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This tasted even better the second day. The cinnamon was a nice touch. There was more frosting than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I can't remember the last time I actually baked a cake from scratch. It was a special day, a good friends birthday, so I searched the website for a good chocolate cake. Based on the reviews, I chose this one! What a great choice! I baked the cake in a 9x13 pan and cut it into three and used the frosting in between the layers and on top, everybody just loved the cake, it was moist, and very very tasty! Especially with the cinnamon! I would certainly bake it again! Actually, now I am not going to buy cakes anymore, but bake them instead! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States