Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy recipe. I have made this in the past and again tonight, with a few changes as I didn't have all of the fixen's but that is one of the great reason to use this recipe, as it is very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As with most recipes on this site, it takes quite a bit longer to make...3 hours to be exact. But it was delicious, and the husband said it was a keeper. I used a whole chicken that had been smoked with apple pellets which gave it an interesting smoked flavor. This was my first attempt at making noodles, so I didn't know what to expect. I rolled them out on my pastry board and cut into strips with a pizza cutter...simple, but they were a bit sticky, and I had used at least 3 1/2 cups flour. I sprinkled flour over the noodles as I scrapped the strips off of the board and let them dry while I de-boned the chicken. The noodles probably could have been rolled out thinner, but it worked OK. The consistency was more like soup; I will thicken the left overs with cornstarch/water mixture. Will definitely make this again, but allow more time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A big OOHRAH! tasted good AND you made everything including the noodles from scratch unlike a lot of so-called "recipes" that do nothing more than combine store bought stuff together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It sounds delicious, but I'm confused: how do you make chickpea sized noodles? Two different shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was very tasty. The fun thing about this one is that you can turn the leftovers into other dishes, or just eat it the way you cooked it. I had a lot of fun turning this into soup, casserole, and using it just the way it was made. I didn't make my noodles from scratch either, I saved some time, and bought egg noodles from the frozen section of a local grocery store. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I cheated a little bit using a rotisserie chicken from the grocery and egg noodles but it turned out great and would probably only be better all homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very tasty. My grandmother made chicken and noodles that everyone who had them raved about. Used more egg, and COLD water. uncle dwight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Too much chicken broth for the amount of chicken and veggies. Noodles were - ugh! Not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juley Kingsley Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Very good. I added some extra seasoning like thyme and celery salt. I'm not a fan of celery so I left that out and just put in a bag of frozen peas and carrots. Family loved it. I also didn't make the noodles, i just used egg noodles and put them in about 45 mins before serving and left it simmering and they were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Delicious! Tasted just like what my grandma used to make! Only ALOT easier. I used a chicken that I had baked awhile ago and had put in the freezer with meat still on it. I put it in my pressure cooker with the broth & veggies for 10 minutes, then removed bones made my noodle dough and dinner was on the table in less than 40 minutes. My kids LOVED it too!! Definitely going to be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States